Structured Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-03-05, 05:31 PM
philipherpantez
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Structured Wiring

I am in the planning stage of putting in a structured wiring system. I have done quite a bit of research but still have questions. Almost every room I am going to run 2 cat6 and rg6 runs. My question is about which equipment should I use at the panel? The panels all seem to be simular and will work with other manufactures equipment. The cable hub is simple, I am not sure about the data and phone hub. All of my cat6 lines will use rj45 connectors so I can switch between phone and data. From what I have seen it looks like most equipment is punched down at the panel. This seems like it would be hard to relocate phone to data. I assume that you then would put patch cords to the 'phone block' and the ethernet switch. Basically I am looking for more information which equipment to use in the panel. Please let me know which brands to use or not use. I also would like to set up some sort of security system. The cameras should be ethernet based for the web/intranet and displayed on the video distribution system.

Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-15-05, 10:00 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Start Here

I broke your questions down into groups:

1. I am in the planning stage of putting in a structured wiring system. I have done quite a bit of research but still have questions. Almost every room I am going to run 2 cat6 and rg6 runs. My question is about which equipment should I use at the panel? The panels all seem to be simular and will work with other manufactures equipment. The cable hub is simple, I am not sure about the data and phone hub. All of my cat6 lines will use rj45 connectors so I can switch between phone and data.

Leviton has good information that should answer some of your questions. Go to http://www.leviton-lin.com/learning/...tallation.aspx.

Data(CAT-6 cable) does not need a hub unless your cable is longer than 100 meters.

Telephone cables can be connected in parallel. No HUB is required.


2. From what I have seen it looks like most equipment is punched down at the panel. This seems like it would be hard to relocate phone to data. I assume that you then would put patch cords to the 'phone block' and the ethernet switch. Basically I am looking for more information which equipment to use in the panel.

It is easier to do it just like you have researched. It is true that you have to punch down all the wires into the back of punchdown blocks. But you do that only once. The front side of some punchdown blocks have RJ-45 Jacks which allow you to swap cables around later with ease. Install two punchdown blocks close to each other and use RJ-45 jumper cables between them. One punchdown block should have the cables from the outside and the other will have the cables from inside the house.

3. Please let me know which brands to use or not use.

Leviton is good. Just use a brand name.


4. I also would like to set up some sort of security system. The cameras should be ethernet based for the web/intranet and displayed on the video distribution system.

This is still just Cat-6 cabling. Buy large enough punchdown blocks with the capacity to handle all the cables you anticipate to install. Also leave room for future projects.

--------------------------------------------------------------
Also, do not strip too much insulation off the wires. There should not be more that about 1/32 bare wire at each punchdown.

RG-6 cable is a different subject. You should be able to integrate it with the CAT-6 cable project with some sort of multipurpose blocks.

Hope this helps
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-05, 11:12 PM
philipherpantez
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the reply. I will do some more research and come back if I have more questions.
 
  #4  
Old 06-19-05, 06:05 AM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just as a side note...if you wish to have it go to the Internet you will need a Broadband connection and a Web Server in your home. Channel Vision make as one called W-1000 and one that does up to 4 called a W-4000.

You can check them out here :http://www.channelvision.com/index/45

Now finding a dealer in your area might be tough but they are now starting to carry most of the components in local electrical supply houses.

Hope this helps on the Internet option for you....
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-05, 10:04 PM
philipherpantez
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I was planning on having the cameras go threw the network. I finally found a product that does this. It is probably pretty pricey. Check it out:
http://www.axis.com/products/cam_sta...stallation.htm

I found a national supply house that has a local branch. They seem to carry anything related. Check it out: http://www.adilink.com/index.php

Any other input would be great. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 07-02-05, 07:52 PM
galacticroot
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You can find some relatively cheap network cameras one E-Bay. Here are a couple:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...785339368&rd=1
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...526931873&rd=1

I don't know how good they are. I have been thinking about buying one and putting it above the front door.

There are several programs that can do camera management. ZoneMinder seems to be a good one, although I haven't used it:
http://www.zoneminder.com/

It supports motion detection in specific areas of the picture, so you can, for example, have it notify you if someone is walking on your lawn. It is free, so all you need it is an old PC to use as a server. Install Linux and zoneminder on it, and you will have your camera server. It provides a lot of options for display. You could, for example, use a PDA with a wlan connection as a remote display, or a TV out card and modulator to display on the video network.

If you want to use other software, make sure that it can aquire images from your cameras built in web servers. Some programs only work with video capture cards.

Also, if you want the security system in case there is a robbery, you may want to hide the camera server since it won't help you if it gets stolen. An alternative would be to send the images to an off-site FTP server.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: