NID questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-29-05, 05:02 PM
Gizzorge's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 95
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question NID questions

Hi all,

I moved into a house this past summer and have had occasional static in my phone lines. It is always there, but some days are worse than others. Today I ran a brand new line from the NID to the garage. Static is still there.

So I took the phone out to the NID and plugged it in. It was extremely crisp and clear. However, I noticed two things:

1. The screws in the NID that hold my wires in are rusted. Is this my problem or Verizon's?

2. For some reason, the ground wire from the NID is not connected to the ground wire from my electrical service. It's just hanging there. Again, is it my problem or Verizon's?

I just don't want to call them and then they charge me $100 to fix it.

Thanks!
 

Last edited by Gizzorge; 10-29-05 at 05:04 PM. Reason: clarification
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-29-05, 05:58 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the ground issue is theirs . the rusty screw terminls arent likely to cause problems . and would be easy enough to clean if it concerns you .
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-05, 05:44 AM
nynextek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The Entire NID is Verizons problem but the Static is coming from your end. If you plugged the Phone to the NID and got a clear line then It is indeed your trouble. You could have them replace the NID and they can't charge you. If you go that route I would advise that you be around when the Tech comes and make certain they replace the NID. A quick question, Was the static ONLY on the line going to the garaged or ws it on every line. If it was only the line going to the garage then it may well be the rust causing the trouble.
 
  #4  
Old 10-30-05, 06:29 PM
Gizzorge's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 95
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question

Originally Posted by nynextek
The Entire NID is Verizons problem but the Static is coming from your end. If you plugged the Phone to the NID and got a clear line then It is indeed your trouble. You could have them replace the NID and they can't charge you. If you go that route I would advise that you be around when the Tech comes and make certain they replace the NID. A quick question, Was the static ONLY on the line going to the garaged or ws it on every line. If it was only the line going to the garage then it may well be the rust causing the trouble.
For clarification, I only have one telephone number (only one line in that sense) and I have two lines (or branches, I guess) from the red and green terminals at the NID.

I have had static since I moved in, and I originally thought it was a loose connection under the house. So I ran my new garage phone straight from the NID. Same intermittent static.
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-05, 02:41 PM
nynextek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Static

If you have had intermittent static since you moved in then it may be the drop wire (Service Wire) or a bad cable and pair (both of which are Verizons problem). Does the static come immediately after rain? If so it is more than likely a verizon trouble. If the Drop wire looks old then have them replace it. If you do call for service you must tell them you had an outside vendor run all new wiring and it's still static so this way they will either change your drop and/or change your cable pair and won't try to hit you with a service charge. Strees the fact that it is an intermittent trouble in case the line tests "OK" when they get there.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: