Connecting seperately wired line to main phone line at box

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-03-05, 01:01 PM
jeffbellamy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Connecting seperately wired line to main phone line at box

I have a seperately wired line 2 that I cancelled service on.

I want to link it to line 1 which goes to all the other jacks in the house.

I went to the box outside and hooked the wires to the same poles as my main line. went back inside tried the phone and it worked.

20 minutes later none of the phones worked, no dial tone. so I undid what i did and line 1 worked again.

The question is how can i connect this sepaerate line 2 to my main line 1.

I'm switching to VoIP and the modem is next to this currently dead jack.

thanks

*********@*******.com
 

Last edited by mattison; 12-05-05 at 10:49 AM. Reason: No e-mail addresses in the forum please.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-04-05, 02:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like you have a short circuit.whatever you plugged into that jack maybe the trouble( computer or fax or phone). to rule out equipment, if you did have something plugged into 2nd jk, plug it into a working jk and wait 2-5 min and then see if you have dial tone. a short circuit is like taking the phone off the hook.you will have dail tone for about couple of min and then it goes dead.if service goes dead then its your equipment.if not you may have a problem with the wiring or jk of line 2.
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-05, 03:23 PM
jeffbellamy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Connecting in the box

So you're saying that the connection I did in the network interface was an OK way to join these line, but I have a secondary problem (it's probably the line)

Thank you

jeff
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-05, 09:47 AM
frhrwa's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park WA
Posts: 521
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
that's one way to connect the second line, the other, and easiest, is in the jack itself, just swing the live pair to the jack position you want it on.. if its a single port jack and line two used to be the dedicated service there, just lift the W/O & O/W or blk/y pair off and replace with the W/B & B/W or G/R pairs..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: