UK Telephone Extension


  #1  
Old 10-26-06, 05:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question UK Telephone Extension

Hi,

I want to add an extension to the main BT socket in my house. Can I use CAT5/6 cable instead of standard telephone wire?

Will the ADSL signal be degraded if I don't use proper telephone wire?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 10-26-06, 04:48 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless the physics of telephony are different in the UK, you can use Cat5 for telephone wire. Just mind the pairs.
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-06, 05:45 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there will be no advantage in using it over standard cable.

you are taliking about solid cat 5 cable and not stranded patch cord I assume
 
  #4  
Old 10-26-06, 11:23 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow CAT 6 cable

Yes, I will be purchasing solid-core CAT 6 cable to network the house.

classicsat - Could you clarify what you mean by 'mind the pairs' please?
 
  #5  
Old 10-29-06, 07:19 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Telephone is delivered balanced, over a twisted pair. You just need to make sure you connect the one or more twisted pairs to each pair from the telephone demarc.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: