UK Telephone Extension

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-26-06, 05:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question UK Telephone Extension

Hi,

I want to add an extension to the main BT socket in my house. Can I use CAT5/6 cable instead of standard telephone wire?

Will the ADSL signal be degraded if I don't use proper telephone wire?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-06, 04:48 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless the physics of telephony are different in the UK, you can use Cat5 for telephone wire. Just mind the pairs.
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-06, 05:45 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there will be no advantage in using it over standard cable.

you are taliking about solid cat 5 cable and not stranded patch cord I assume
 
  #4  
Old 10-26-06, 11:23 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow CAT 6 cable

Yes, I will be purchasing solid-core CAT 6 cable to network the house.

classicsat - Could you clarify what you mean by 'mind the pairs' please?
 
  #5  
Old 10-29-06, 07:19 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Telephone is delivered balanced, over a twisted pair. You just need to make sure you connect the one or more twisted pairs to each pair from the telephone demarc.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: