66 punch down block confusion

Old 11-15-06, 02:01 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
66 punch down block confusion

Ok, just for a little background, I have a bachelors in telecommunications, and I took a couple voice classes where we had to wire a full 66 punch down to a nortel switch or something like that. But that was 5 years back or so, and it's all hazy now.

I'm trying to wire my in-laws new additioin. I brought a new cat5 line in from the demarc box to my punch down block. I just picked the block up at home depot. I didn't realize there were different kinds of 66 blocks. I snapped off the back, and realized that all the pairs of pins were on their own, and were not connected down the rows or anything. I was assuming that the column would be connected all the way down so that I could just connect my two wires from the demarc box to the two top pins, and then just put any lines coming off of it on the following pins. But not so.

So how can I use this block to terminate about 8 different phones in the house? I've just finished running all my cat5 from the phone locations to this block, but just unsure how to wire them all up cause the columns on the stupid block aren't connected. The way I see it, I can only hook up one line, and that's using a jumper to go across to the other column of pins.

I've searched the forum, and read quite a few posts reguarding this topic but am still confused, so sorry if I just add to the numerous 66 punch down block posts out there.

Help?