phone line activated, but not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-01-07, 09:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question phone line activated, but not working

Hello. I moved to a new place and contacted local phone service provider regarding phone line activation. The place has 3 phone jacks, all connected to the same wire - 6 wires, 2 per jack - blue/blue and white, orange/orange and white, and green/green and white. I only needed one line, and according to them "a line" has been activated. Unfortunately, none of my jacks work.

I looked at the outside box - it has 6 ports: 3 are linked to the wire going to my apartment, one to the line for the downstairs apartment. 5th one looks to have some wire going into it from outside, and 6th one has nothing. Phone company is offering to send a tech to come out at $120.

Would it be correct to assume that they activated the 5th one and not one of the 3 going to my jacks? And if that is the case, is there something I can do myself to rewire my jack to the active line?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-01-07, 11:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have not stated which of the lines your phone jack is connected to.

Try the other two first.
 
  #3  
Old 06-01-07, 11:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 jacks in my place are connected to the wire linked to the 3 ports in the box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: