Cable modem question


  #1  
Old 06-26-07, 03:14 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cable modem question

Hi,
Our computer is hooked up to a cable modem. We just intalled another line in another room and need to hook up another modem. Do I need to get this modem from Time Warner, or can I or should I buy it on my own.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-26-07, 04:02 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you can only have one modem , what you need is a router to put behind the existing modem to add more PC'S
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-07, 06:43 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As mango said, you need either a wired router and Ethernet cabling or a wireless router and wireless capability in any other computers.

There are alternatives to Ethernet cabling, but I don't recommend them (other than wireless).
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-07, 11:22 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! I will pick up a router.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-07, 04:18 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Make sure that you buy a router with a good quality built in firewall. I also suggest one with at least four ports, even if you go wireless.
 
  #6  
Old 06-27-07, 05:02 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I buy the cheapest I can find , usually wall mart around 50 or so

linksys is pretty much the standard

I don't think you can even get them without a built in four port switch
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: