Easyish question on cat5.


  #1  
Old 07-12-07, 09:05 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,547
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Easyish question on cat5.

I need to run a phone line from my office to my shop across a ceiling maybe 100'. I have a box of cat5 and no phone cable at all. Can I use cat5 for phone cable ??

The wire itself has printed on it: General Cable C MPP/CMP 4pr 24 (UL) Verified Cat-5 Plenum 05-94 115488 FEFT
 
  #2  
Old 07-12-07, 09:17 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 948
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
yes. ran several hundred feet myself.
 
  #3  
Old 07-12-07, 09:43 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,547
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I knew it should be an easy one for you guys. I just didn't want to run it for no good reason.

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-07, 05:45 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you wire this to a normal four wire phone jack, then just wire in two twisted pairs.

If you wire it to an RJ45 network jack, then wire all four twisted pairs.
 
  #5  
Old 08-19-07, 04:06 PM
7
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just curious, why do you need to wire all 4 pair on for the rj45, you are only using one pair. we usually just cut off the extra pairs.
 
  #6  
Old 08-19-07, 04:33 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,162
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
actually 2 pairs are used with typical ethernet wiring.
 
  #7  
Old 08-19-07, 05:14 PM
7
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
your right, my bad, i was thinking of the telephone
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: