Fake Out Security System - No land line

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-01-09, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fake Out Security System - No land line

I have eliminated my land line and my Brinks security system now shows a communications error. How can I get rid of this error? Can I apply voltage on the phone jack of the alarm system? How much voltage?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-01-09, 06:30 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
post in the alarm category and see if someone can tell you how to turn the phone monitor off

phone line is around 50 volts DC
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-09, 07:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 276
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have a voip service the ATA (Analog Telephone Adapter) could give you a new line.

dsk
 
  #4  
Old 09-06-09, 08:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess if the control panel calls Brinks HQ to check in that I still have a problem. I don't want to pay $30-40/month for their service.
 
  #5  
Old 09-06-09, 09:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post your question in the Home Security Alarms section as I received feedback from the forum. I was able to change the settings in my alarm so that it would not call the monitoring company, but call my cell phone instead. Works great!

Electronic Alarms and Home Security Devices - DoItYourself.com Community Forums
 
  #6  
Old 09-06-09, 09:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes: 0
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Wasn't that your post over in Alarms where they explained it can't be done because of the proprietary nature of Brinks panels? http://forum.doityourself.com/electr...rm-system.html
 
  #7  
Old 09-06-09, 10:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, sorry for the cross posts. I was not paying attention to the forum to which I was replying.
 
  #8  
Old 09-06-09, 10:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes: 0
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No problem. Sometimes things like this can be very frustrating. Bottom line proprietary probably means programed chips which can't be altered.
 
  #9  
Old 09-06-09, 04:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see the basic question has been answered , but just in case you still need to know:

"regular" telephone service battery voltage is typically 48 volts DC. Centrex lines are about 37 VDC, and a PBX might be just 24 VDC. So a system designed for broad usage on telephone systems probalby accepts anything in this range. It is a little more complicated, however. All phone lines have a certain amount of resistance in series, this being the "A" relay at the CO and the length of wire to your house. So if you were to short circuit the two leads at your house, the maximum current would fall, if memory serves, in the range of 20 ma to 200 ma. Something like that , anyway, and if you were to want to power that alarm system, I think you would have to account for this.
 
  #10  
Old 09-07-09, 08:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,478
Received 21 Votes on 17 Posts
The lack of the proper voltage and/or current on the line was not the problem, it was that the Brink's panel periodically communicates an "all's well" message to the alarm center. Without telephone service it couldn't communicate and therefore was generating the trouble signal.

I had the same problem with my ADT panel (a modified Moose) that I couldn't fix until I swapped the panel for an unmodified Moose I had lying around.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: