Digital phone lines, analog fax

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-11, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Digital phone lines, analog fax

I have a multi-function printer on which the fax quit working. I suspected my phone company had gone digital and the printer guide clearly stated fax would not work on digital line. Bottom line I bought new printer that is supposed to work I tried to fax something last night and got same communication error msg I was getting previously. Have been looking on line for a slolution. Will a DSL filter allow the anolog fax to work on the digital line? I tried to fax to the new machine this morning from work and it appeared to receive the fax ok. Is this a digital/analog problem or have i done something wrong in setup? Sorry for muliple questions in one post!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-25-11, 10:38 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
If you sent a fax and the printer recieved it, then its a set up error in sending the fax. Yes you cant send over digital line. You dont want a DSL filter on that line and it will not change anything from dig to ana.....

Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-11, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Quote from user guide, this is why I asked about the filter

HP printers are designed specifically for use with traditional analog phone services. If
you are in a digital phone environment (such as DSL/ADSL, PBX, or ISDN), you might
need to use digital-to-analog filters or converters when setting up the printer for faxing.
 
  #4  
Old 01-29-11, 05:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What type of error message are you receiving from the fax machine?

Did you order a digital line from the phone company, or have another reason to believe that they switched your line to digital? They would switch your service to a digital line without reason (typically).

Do you have DSL service, and do you have a DSL filter on the line to your fax?

When you tried from work, did you take the same machine to your workplace and send a fax using it, or was it still at home and you sent a fax to it from your work fax?
 
  #5  
Old 02-01-11, 08:11 PM
Mr.fios's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i agree never heard of a digital line unless its dsl if so a filter should be placed between the fax machine and the jack to isolate the dsl who is your provider
 
  #6  
Old 01-04-12, 08:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I too have a multifunction Hp that won't work on my cable company's digital line. Best Buy has no idea what filter. Moreover, Best Buy was totally unaware of this problem. What filter???
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: