Quick question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-11, 12:07 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Quick question

I have AT&T direct DSL (no phone line) and lately i've been trying to solve my connection issues. One thing i've come across is mentions of using UTP cable instead of a normal flat cable.

Right now my setup is just a flat 6" telephone cord running directly from the modem to the NIB. There are no splitters, no wall jacks, nothing of the sort just that one cable. Would replacing this with a twisted pair cord make any difference or is the flat cord just fine?

Also, if I do need to replace it which wires do I use for R/T?

tyia
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-11, 01:19 PM
tldoug's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
6"! Do you mean 6 ft? Not that it matters, because such a short run is unlikely to have any bearing on your "connection issues," whatever that means.

Why don't you start over and describe the symptoms of your problems rather than asking for someone to bless a shot in the dark "solution" based on one thing you came across? It might result in a useful suggestion. Otherwise, try the UTP. It will help you to learn something about what you're dealing with. Use the red/green pair.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-11, 01:28 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes.. 6 ft is what I meant.

I'm not looking for a diagnosis on my connection issues..

See you
 

Last edited by Gunguy45; 02-01-11 at 02:06 PM. Reason: Removed unnecessary comments...
  #4  
Old 02-01-11, 07:54 PM
Mr.fios's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
dsl is a single pair so it will use red green or your center pins on the connector just like a standard phone cable but i doubt this will resolve your connection issue. if your dsl just started having issues it will probly be on the outside cable have a at&t tech check your service and dedicate a pair from the dmark to your modem jack and have them do a ping test from your pc back to the dsl card at the co this should pin point your issue. good luck
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: