Newbie here, home networking question

Old 03-26-13, 10:57 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Newbie here, home networking question

First post here, hope it comes across okay.

Our new home was wired, most rooms have a coax and a Cat5 in them. We have three TIVOs currently being operated through a wireless router, I would like to switch to a wired system using the cables in the house.

Right now the Cable company modem and wireless router is in the Den, which is fine with me but I would be okay with moving them to the Utility Room cable box. I just don't know. Here is a pic of that box and a diagram that sets out my connections.

Looking for a good way to get wired! Thanks, puttster

Old 03-27-13, 05:14 AM
R
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Welcome to the forums!

It looks like the CATV is already wired properly: The feed comes in, hits a 2-way splitter. One side of that splitter goes to the modem; the other goes to the 3-way splitter for the TVs. At one point a 4th TV drop was added and is not connected. If necessary you could swap the 3-way splitter for a 4-way and connect all four.

I would put a face plate on that 120VAC receptacle to prevent anything from falling in and shorting.

The block of Cat 5's is telephone. Although you could use the same cables for both telephone and data it would be better if you could pull new from each room to the box in the utility room.

Old 03-27-13, 09:45 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I'm gonna go out on a limb and say it'll probably be difficult to run new Cat5 here unless there is unfinished basement and attic access. Whoever prewired did not plan ahead or was too cheap to run a second Cat5.

There is nothing wrong with running ethernet and phone on the same cat5 except that it precludes gigabit (that cable actually looks kind of thick, so it may even be Cat6). It just needs to be terminated properly.