Question about wiring up 66 punch block

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-12-13, 06:50 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about wiring up 66 punch block

I am a tech for an alarm and av company. I have wired up a few 66 punch blocks but it has always just been for 1 phone number. I am trying to do a friend of mine a favor and wire up his phone system for his new business. The problem is that he has 2 phone numbers coming from his modem. He wants it to work where if he is talking on the phone using phone number 1 and someone calls, it will roll the call to phone number 2. I am not sure how to wire this up on a 66 punch block. I understand the general concept and terminology with phones systems such as the Co lines and station wires but I have never had to wire one this way before. Can anyone provide any advice? I would appreciate it more than you know!
 
  #2  
Old 04-12-13, 09:53 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Rolling an incoming call to a second telephone number is not done via the station wiring. It takes either an operation in the central office, generally requiring the two numbers to be one digit apart (old technology), or else it is done by using a call transfer when busy function that can be programmed from the station telephone IF the subscriber has requested (and pays for) the service. Some telephone companies may include this service as part of a "bundle" of services including call waiting, caller ID and the like. The actual call transfer is done in the central office.

Edit: I noticed you wrote "two lines from his modem". Is this a traditional telephone company, a VoIP or a VoIP-like telephone through some other service? VoIP should already have call transfer capabilities and if from a non-traditional source it should be easy for the service to be set up.
 
  #3  
Old 04-13-13, 09:41 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh ok, I see what your saying. He is with Charter which i assume would be considered a traditional telephone company. Maybe I am just over thinking it. For his second line would I just wire all of the orange-white pairs directly beneath all of the looped blue-white pairs? Sorry if i'm not making any sense. I'm not even sure if everyone does them the same way I do. Thanks for the help Furd. I really appreciate it.
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-13, 11:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,853
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
Yes...the second line, using the orange/white pair, will duplicate the blue pair directly underneath.

I'm assuming your friend is running a business. I left you a link to Charter business class service. Inside that link there is a click on for 21 business calling features. It would be called hunting or rollover.

Charter business bundles
 
  #5  
Old 04-14-13, 06:03 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Yes...the second line, using the orange/white pair, will duplicate the blue pair directly underneath.
PJ, I hope that you are not suggesting that he punch down additional conductors onto an already occupied IDC connection. IDC is for one conductor only.

Charter is primarily a cable television provider. Like Comcast in my area they have branched out to also provide Internet and telephone services using their already installed system. Their telephone services are more akin to VoIP than a traditional telephone service. The "modem" to which you referred contains an analog telephone adapter (ATA) and this unit is the interface between the telephones on the premises and protocol that sends the telephone data (digital, not analog) over the Charter-owned communications link, either coaxial cable, fiber optic or a combination of the two. The ability to roll over a call to a second (or third, fourth, etc.) line is built into this ATA unit and the software that Charter uses for telephone operation.

I don't know about Charter specifically, nor any other major player that started out as a cable TV provider but with standard VoIP it often requires setting up the telephones (different numbers/lines) through the provider's website. Charter may be the same or it could simply be a matter of pushing a few buttons on the two telephones. At any rate, it is not a station wiring problem and Charter can supply the needed information for programming this useful feature.
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-13, 08:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,853
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
C'mon furd

I'm assuming the OP was using some type of 66 block similar to the one in the pic below.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 04-14-13, 09:57 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Being a person that works with IDC connections I didn't think you would be advocating additional wires on such connections but I also think that someone else reading this could be confused. Sorry if I offended you , PJ.
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-13, 10:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,853
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
Good point...and no offense taken. The pic illustrates it better anyway.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: