Wiring for phone and DSL

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-13, 06:59 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring for phone and DSL

I've seen it mentioned before, can't remember the details.

The story goes that for optimum phone reception, I need to separate the wires running DSL from the phone wires. Details, please. Is this done before the lines enter the house? And what do I do?
 
  #2  
Old 10-18-13, 08:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Put a DSL filter at the NID where the phone line enter your house. Use red and green for voice and black and yellow for DSL.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-13, 05:58 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I assume a NID is this?Name:  photo(1).jpg
Views: 3437
Size:  23.2 KB

And, where does the DSL filter attach?
And what happens when the wires going into the house are blue, orange, white/blue, and white/orange? Like this: Name:  photo (2).jpg
Views: 5159
Size:  30.6 KB
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-13, 12:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Do you have a plug from the Phonco side to the customer side? I can't tell from the picture.

Example:
Name:  nid1fs7.jpg
Views: 8040
Size:  27.7 KB
Image source: DSL Reports
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-13, 05:08 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would put a pot splitter inside the house. Somewhere in your home (likely near your electrical panel) there will be the other end of the line tied into your NID. There will be 2 wires (single pair) that your phones and data are tied into. These wires go into the "Line" slots in the splitter. From there what I have done personally is get a small length of data cable, strip it, cut out a pair and run it to the master slot on a phone block from the "Phone" portion of the splitter. Then I made provisions for my modem to be located by my panel so I just ran a regular old phone cord from the "modem" jack to my modem.

Name:  PS15-i3S CPE POTS Splitter.jpg
Views: 3651
Size:  30.8 KB
 
  #6  
Old 10-28-13, 08:31 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray,

I don't believe so. The Grey "door" that's open in the second picture has a "plug" built into it that connects when closed. Otherwise, everything in the box is connected by screw terminals.

(What does NID stand for?)

Mr. Awesome,

Your gizmo looks like it might work. Is this something readily available at Radio Shack?
 
  #7  
Old 10-28-13, 08:43 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
NID is Network Interface Device. Best to look for items like that on line so you get a good price.
 
  #8  
Old 10-28-13, 07:12 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Radio Shack, unlikely. You will most likely need to go to an electrical/telecommunications wholesaler. I'm unsure of which companies are big in the states... Graybar? Do you guys have Wesco or Eecol there? Ray could probably recommend a place.
You should be able to buy a pot splitter and a phone block there.

This a phone terminal block:
Name:  68T-2.jpg
Views: 6809
Size:  14.7 KB

There is a master port where your wires from the pot splitter go.
Then all your phone lines plug into the rest of them. Keeps it all tidy.
 
  #9  
Old 10-28-13, 08:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Sorry I can't recommend. The one time i did this it was pure jerry rig with an individual splitter and surface mount phone jack installed in the NID.
 
  #10  
Old 10-28-13, 09:38 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I meant recommend a wholesaler.
 
  #11  
Old 10-28-13, 09:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
That's a new style NID. Plug is hinged.

The white and blue pair goes into the house. Is there any type of connection block inside that you can see ?

Are you putting the DSL modem at an existing phone jack location ?
You can just plug the modem in directly and then use a filter like in the picture at every phone location where a phone is plugged in. They are available almost anywhere.... Depot, the Shack and many places online like Amazon. They run about 5 bucks each. If you're using a whole house cordless system then you would only need one.

Name:  dsl.jpg
Views: 2364
Size:  3.8 KB
 
  #12  
Old 10-29-13, 08:56 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a DSL filter at every phone jack. Though not horrible, I'm thinking that phone reception could be clearer. I'll try splitting the cables. Thanks for all the input.
 
  #13  
Old 10-29-13, 09:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
As PJ said it is the hinged jack that is the real problem. Here is an example of an out door DSL Splitter that could be hard wired next to your NID. Outdoor DSL Splitter - DSL Filters & Splitters - DSL and xDSL - Passive - Premise Distribution

Here is another example: Outdoor DSL POTS Splitter
 
  #14  
Old 05-16-15, 05:11 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I finally got a chance to work on this. And it's not going as well as I envisioned. I bought a POTS DSL Splitter. Interior. It requires me to cut the telephone line and install RJ11 clips. When I do that, it doesn't work. I've temporarily spliced the wires back together, so I know the line is still good. Are the 4 lines supposed be in a certain order (blue/orange/white-orange/white-blue) when inserting into the clip ends? It was never mentioned on the crimping tool package.
 
  #15  
Old 05-16-15, 10:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Yes..... the RJ-11 plug is six pins. You will only be using the four inside pins. The outer two aren't used.

The two inner pins are the blue pair.... pins 3 and 4.
The next two pins are the orange pair.... pins 2 and 5.

The polarity of the pairs is not particular for most applications.

Name:  RJ-11.jpg
Views: 1829
Size:  15.9 KB
 
  #16  
Old 05-17-15, 10:44 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info.

I don't why the instructions on the crimping tool couldn't have mentioned that we need to check for proper order before inserting the wires... Now I have to buy more connectors because I blew through six of them thinking that the tool wasn't working right.
 
  #17  
Old 05-17-15, 11:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
I have boxes of them.... too bad you weren't closer.

The tool doesn't usually illustrate the connections but most packages that the connectors come in do.
 
  #18  
Old 05-18-15, 10:48 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'S'alright. I just ordered a pack of 50 (... and I need 4) from Amazon.com. $3.87 gives me practically a lifetime's supply!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: