"FBI mobile unit" wifi

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-17, 04:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 147
"FBI mobile unit" wifi

A guy I know said he saw "FBI Mobile Unit" pop up when his iPad was searching for connections. I'm thinking it's a neighbor trying to be clever. If it really was the Fed's, they wouldn't identify themselves.

Any thoughts?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-17, 04:59 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,370
Could be a virus. Locally a pervert got a similar notice on his pc so he turned himself in. The police didn't even have that pedophile on their radar.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-17, 05:07 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,342
When I'm bored at the airport I'll turn the WiFi on my phone on and look for funny device names. I have to go "bla" though when I see someone's mom like CourtneysMom. Really, should a adult's identity be based on their children?
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-17, 05:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 613
Because I was a bit worried about wireless connections when I set up my first one, I named mine "TC's Virus". I figured no one would dare click on that & attempt to connect to it.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-17, 05:50 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 19,964
Yes, clever names are common, FBI mobile unit is one I have seen before as well.

Pilot Dane, you've apparently never heard of child worship.
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-17, 07:29 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
I'm sure that someone used that name to discourage others from attempting to connect or hack it. After all, you're using Bo Didley's name.
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-17, 10:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 147
You are correct, sir. (But there is a possibility that my name is Elias McDaniel, also. )
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-17, 11:56 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,925
You are correct, sir. (But there is a possibility that my name is Elias McDaniel, also. )
Not near Brunswick OH there's not. Hey, do the buzzards still come back to Hinkley?
 
  #9  
Old 10-12-17, 12:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 147
Talking

Quit spying on me, Mr Super Moderator. (What if my number is unlisted?)

Buzzards still come back to Hinckley every year. (A little inside information - they could arrive up to 2-3 weeks early, but none are "identified" until the Official Buzzard Spotter says "there's a buzzard" on March 15th.) Don't tell anyone...
 
  #10  
Old 10-12-17, 07:07 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,925
Lol...I wondered about that...I mean come on! Mar 15th EVERY year?

Hey, I'm not spying...it's the Interwebs itself.

Btw...I'm allowed anyway, I'm a Buckeye as well. North of Dayton, Miami County.
 
  #11  
Old 10-19-17, 03:57 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 335
Funny WiFi Names

Good timing of this thread

I saw one at the Dr.'s office the other day named "FBI Surveillance Van"

In the area where a friend lives it is almost 100% the default CableVision (Optimum) default router SSID (Network name)

Where I live it is mostly the same default router name of "MySpectrumWiFi**-2G" or -5G or MyCharterWiFi**-2G or -5G for the older routers.

Where the ** is unique to each router and -2G is for 2.4 GHZ band and the -5G for the 5 GHZ band

I noticed that some ISPS use their routers (That are at the customers house) as a WiFi hotspot for anyone who has an account with that ISP. I don't know the specifics but I take that as a network security risk. It is part of the TOS for using their router and cannot be disabled (Easily)

The two ISPS I know of are CableVision (Optimum) and ComCast (Xfinity)
 
  #12  
Old 10-19-17, 05:22 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
The MAC filtering option in the router should block any unwanted wifi connections. Enable it & enter the MAC addresses of only your wireless devices.
 
  #13  
Old 10-19-17, 05:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,773
Yes...the cable companies do provide a hotspot to their system if you are a subscriber using your modem/router. The router is split into two distinct sections.... public and private.
 
  #14  
Old 10-20-17, 08:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 705
Interesting, I'd noticed that the new verizon fios basic routers, have dual wifi system baked in,
normal private wifi along with an optional guest wifi. -both can be password protected-

Hadn't occurred to me that since the router is leased, somebody could include a dual wifi setup for public access.
I can see how that makes sense for small business and or enterprise customers, who want to provide customers with
wifi access, but also keep their network separate and secure, but I'd be a bit concerned with a residential hotspot, especially if it's not fully disclosed.
 
  #15  
Old 10-20-17, 08:09 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
Let's get more specific. FIOS used Actiontec routers. Now I believe that they switched to Qualcom. So which of those routers or both have that split wifi?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'