Doorbell

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-19, 10:33 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doorbell

I couldn't really find a category for this.
While I'm remodeling my house I want to extend the doorbell to the downstairs. I have the one chime upstairs and want to add 2 more downstairs. One in the garage and one in the finished basement.
I have it planned out on how to extend the wiring but do I need to add a transformer to carry the voltage to the 2 additional chimes? One for each chime?
I currently have the wireless setup but i want to go back to the original way.
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-19, 10:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,180
Received 594 Votes on 559 Posts
You will need to replace your transformer with a larger one. You can't use two together. For three chimes.... a 16v-24vAC transformer at 40va would be good.
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-19, 11:26 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 293
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do not use to tiny wires!
The longer they are the ticker you need. The ringer it selves does not need many va (almost equal to watts) but the voltage drop in a wire may need some energy too.
As Pete suggest 16-24V could be wise, even when the ringer in the far end are designed for less. The closer ringers may need a serial resistor to not "steal" all the energy.

Often you do not have to consern about this, if the wiring are good.

dsk
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: