Cellular antenna problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-19, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Cellular antenna problems

I have hooked up a yagi antenna on the roof and have a repeater and panel antenna in the house. I'm not getting any signal from the panel unless I hold an att hot spot directly to the panel, doing so causes the signal to go from 120dbm down to 77dbm...even an inch or 2 away and the signal climbs back to 120
 

Last edited by Kirkbob; 04-07-19 at 01:28 PM. Reason: Misspelled word
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-19, 01:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,430
Welcome to the forums.

Moving very high frequency signals takes special equipment and cabling.
Is this a kit you're using or something you've put together ?
We need more info on what you have there.
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-19, 01:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
It all came in a kit...volferda yagi, repeater and indoor panel. Band 2 1900mhzb although I've worked professionally with television antenna and satellite systems, this of course is a little different. So I understand the concept but I'm totally lost on somethings
 

Last edited by Kirkbob; 04-07-19 at 02:04 PM. Reason: Adding info
  #4  
Old 04-07-19, 02:10 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 19,274
With my installation the cabling was a big part. The coax cable looks more like a garden hose and it's very important to keep the cable runs as short as possible as the losses at these high frequencies are pretty high. Since you're not getting good results from the one indoor antenna I would double check the cable run and connections to that antenna. Also, it wouldn't hurt if you told us what antennas and amplifier you are using.
 
  #5  
Old 04-07-19, 02:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Both the repeater and panel say volferda...the yagi says nothing on it. Also, I've read that the stronger the signal brought in by the yagi to the amp, the further the panel will send inside the house? Is this correct? If so, why do I get 70 to 75 dbm against the panel but 110 to 120 a few inches away?. I've tested placing 2 Android phones and a hot spot directly on the panel and they all show within 70 to 80 dbm. Oh, and I'm using rg6 cabling. It came with the kit
 
  #6  
Old 04-07-19, 03:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,430
A yagi needs to be pointed at the cell tower. Do you know where YOUR service tower is located ? Not just any tower. All services are not on all towers. Wireline and non wireline services cannot be at the same location.

RG6 would not be a proper coax to use. RG58, RG8, RG8X would be some of the proper ones.

Can you link to the kit ?"
Is this one of these $150 kits ? I haven't found them to be too effective.
 
  #7  
Old 04-07-19, 04:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
I'm definitely pointed at the tower, and I'm definitely getting a good signal at the panel...problem is my panel isn't broadcasting. Like I said when I sit any of the three at&t devices I have directly on the panel I go from 120dbm to 70 to 75 dbm. Pull the device a few inches away and it jumps back to around 120dbm. I'm trying to determine if I have a faulty repeater/amplifier or if the panel is bad. Having a signal of 75dbm should be enough to "make" the panel broadcast right?
 
  #8  
Old 04-07-19, 06:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,430
Other than swapping parts.... there is really no way to test it.
You'd need a spectrum analyzer for test measurements and those are megabucks.
 
  #9  
Old 04-07-19, 07:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Ok thanks for the information
 
  #10  
Old 04-08-19, 05:23 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 19,274
The system you named is incredibly inexpensive. It's about 20% the cost of reliable repeater/amplifier systems that I've used. I would suspect that either their claims are not accurate or they have a quality problem and you have some bad components.

Is your amplifier plugged in and powered up? What does the display on your amplifier show? Have you verified that all your cable connections are good. Did you kink or tightly bend your coax?

You are getting a good signal right next to your patch because you are so close. The signal strength drops off quickly with distance. It sounds like your amplifier is not working but is allowing at least some of the signal to pass through since it seems you are detecting output from the patch antenna.
 
  #11  
Old 04-08-19, 06:23 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,867
A couple of things.
When I look up the brand name you gave us it only shows the booster with an included panel type outdoor antenna.
Was tha Yagi included in the kit or did you purchase it separately and if purchased separately did you try the panel antenna?

Also, separation and direction of the external and internal antenna is important.
Mine suggested 20' verticle and 50' horizontal separation.
The orientation is also important in that the outside and inside antenna should not be on opposite sides of the house pointed at each other.
If the two antenna are pointed at each other you can get a feedback loop that will greatly reduce its ability to boost the signal.
Some amplifiers have an indicating light for each frequency that indicates feedback and the ability to reduce power on each channel to eliminate feedback.
Does yours have this feature?

Not sure if you are using this type of tester that can indicate cell signal strength and tower location......if not they are fairly usefull.
 
  #12  
Old 04-08-19, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
yagi, amplifier and panel came with 50' of rg6 all in 1 kit. i think i may have found my problem... over loading. as of now, i'mgetting -75dbm with my hotspot directly on the panel...but when i run a speed test i'm only getting about 2mbps down. if i move the hotspot to the window sill i get 112dbm but running a speedtest i get around 5mbps. (the very reason i'mtrying the antenna is the signal fluctuates badly in the window)

so doesn't this kinda point to the problem being overload? i haven't changed the direction of my antenna since starting this thread, it's on my roof and a pain to get to. but i'lldo that later today and post what i find
 
  #13  
Old 04-08-19, 01:08 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,867
Here is a Wilson PDF installation manual that explains antenna placement.
 
  #14  
Old 04-08-19, 02:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
thanks. i'lllook into it, although i have followed a handful of tutorials already
 
  #15  
Old 04-08-19, 03:13 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 19,274
What do you think is being overloaded? -75db isn't a strong enough signal to overload anything. That's a good, normal signal strength.

Another issue can be the use of RG-6 cable. It's losses at high frequency are pretty bad. The cabling could be loosing some of the high frequency band forcing your device to use lower, slower frequencies.
 
  #16  
Old 04-08-19, 03:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
from what i understand overloading can happen when u have 2 or more signals being picked up by the outside antenna, the booster compensates by restricting the amount of signal pushed to the inside antenna, but it restricts ALL signals. and rg6 is what comes standard in most of wilson kits... it's a low loss cable good to up to 50'...which is what i have.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes