Phones won't ring from a particular jack

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-13-20, 08:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 528
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Phones won't ring from a particular jack

I have an old Panasonic Intercom Phone system in my house. Regarding one particular phone jack - whichever phone I hook up to it won't ring. The same phone rings fine on different jacks. Opened up the jack and looked at wires - nothing noticeable. Replaced it with a different jack and same issue persists.
Jack wiring consists of 4 wires Blue with white, White with blu, Orange with white & White with orange.

Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 04-14-20, 06:37 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,472
Received 755 Votes on 694 Posts
My guess is either a broken wire somewhere. It also could be the wire is disconnected at the other end where it originates.

It's also possible that jack is wired incorrectly. A phone line takes two wires but most jacks use four. If two of those four wires are crossed the phone will not work.
 
  #3  
Old 04-14-20, 11:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Is this a phone system where multiple phones are controlled by a common control unit ?
It may have a bad channel/port OR that port is programmed not to ring.

Make sure the NRS (night ring service) button is not in.
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-20, 08:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 528
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The system model is a Panasonic Electronic Modular Switching System KX-61610
I believe it is as you say - multiple phones controlled by a common control unit in the basement. Tons of wires going into the main unit.
I doubt it has anything to do with a NRS since the same phone will ring on a different jack
 
  #5  
Old 04-14-20, 08:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Is that Panasonic KX-T61610 ?
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-20, 08:51 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 528
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes it is a Panasonic KX-T61610 - Sorry left out the "T"
 
  #7  
Old 04-15-20, 05:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Ok...... by default that system is 6 C.O. lines x 16 Extensions.
You probably aren't using all 16 extension ports. Move the problem plug to a new port on the system.
 
  #8  
Old 04-15-20, 07:18 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 528
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks - I'll give it a try
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: