Upgrade fine wires to a modular jack and trace multiple cable bundles

Old 05-01-20, 12:59 PM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Upgrade fine wires to a modular jack and trace multiple cable bundles

Hello,

My first post in here. I am not an electrician or phone tech. But I did cange out a modular jack
connections just by rote copying what was on the original. I had the need to replace the built in wall plate for cosmetics at the wall.

In handling the the modular jack/wall plate, when removed one of the fine wires attached to the
four screws came off. At first I didn't know which screw it detached from. By inference I found the right one again.

There are two cable bundles (conduit with multiple wires) attached to these modular screw posts. .

The one wire that disconnected took out my landline voice phone but left the PC DSL connection running. ATT did the DSL job and it was well done with punch down assemblies. The outlet with the
wire off is much older and could have been done by one of the apartment managers here.

Everything is working. But how could I upgrade those fine wire connections to be more secure?

One thing I did was use some soft kneadable artists eraser as a putty to keep any tension off the fine wires. I've left the assembly alone where it lays so as not to have another disconnection.

A long post by me but it was hard to describe

Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-20, 01:13 PM
Group Moderator
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The wiring has been #22-24 since it's inception many years ago.
That's what we work with everyday.
The only problem with that small of a gauge is if you nick it while stripping it.
Otherwise it's fairly robust.

Old 05-27-20, 11:10 AM
L
I had some login problems and one thing and another delayed in my reply. Apologies for that. I may not have had notification set right as well.

Yes I can strip wire and solder etc.