digital video problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-22-03, 12:04 AM
tubabes
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
digital video problem

What are the minimum requirements to hook-up your digital video camera to your pc?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-22-03, 12:29 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A video input card and the right connector.

Tell us more about what you're trying to connect to what.
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-03, 12:35 AM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
every camera may have different requirements, but here is a general list
* Windows 98, 98 SE, ME, 2000, and XP
* Intel Pentium or Celeron processor 300 MHz or faster
* 64 MB RAM
* 300 MB free hard disk space
* SVGA 800 x 600 resolution video support (min. 16-bit color)
* USB interface/port enabled
* 4x CD-ROM to install software
* 16-bit Windows compatible sound device
* Direct X8
* Standard mouse and keyboard
recording video to a computer can take lots of space, so a big hard drive is recommended. With video recording/editing, bigger,faster is definately better
 
  #4  
Old 02-22-03, 12:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need RAM and hard drive space. Lots of both.
A fast CPU would be nice, but you can get by with a slower one if you have patience.
If you don't have enough free RAM (real RAM not virtual) to load the whole picture in memory you're looking at frequent crashes and dismal performance.
I would not even attempt to connect a DV camera to a PC without at least 256M of RAM and at least 2G of free space. RAW video takes a lot of space...
 
  #5  
Old 02-22-03, 09:22 PM
tubabes
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
What I meant was I tried to connect a DV to the fire-wire card of my pc,( I have a 16 high video card). After turning DV on, all I see is a blurry image on the screen. Mind you I have 256 memory.
 
  #6  
Old 02-22-03, 11:35 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you adjust the focus?
 
  #7  
Old 02-23-03, 01:34 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LOL, my first thought too.

Does any program pop-up? Does anything start? What program are you using for capture/viewing? What kind of hardware are you using? What kind of camera do you have?

Help us help you
 
  #8  
Old 02-24-03, 11:08 AM
floydman
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tubabes, I've been using a JVC GR series DV camera with Ulead video studio on a 1GhzP3/192Mb RAM/ME system for over a year now.

Assuming you have your video editing software installed you also need to make sure you have the right driver for you camera and that driver is selected by the video editing software. In Ulead I think this is in capture settings in the preferences(global preferences?) menu.

The option to install these drivers, TI and MI device control should have come with the video editing software's installation disc.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: