Wireless v. Wired Networks

Old 06-09-03, 07:34 PM
timgeorge
Visiting Guest
Wireless v. Wired Networks

I'm building a home entertainment network and am still in the research and planning stage. My question for this forum is the pros and cons of going wireless or not.

Will a wireless LAN have the capacity to play MP3's throughout the house. The server will be upstairs and the main entertainment center (TV/stereo) will be in the basement. Do the wireless routers have enough to get through two floors and a couple of walls? Also, can a wireless (or wire for that matter) handle both the MP3 traffic and sharing an internet connection?

Are there other factors I should consider as I plan out the network infrastructure?

I know that was a mouthful. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-10-03, 07:28 AM
MichaelJP
Visiting Guest
Hi, I am not an expert here on networking, though I can do it I dont get a lot of practice.

From what I see most wireless networks will run at 11Mbps (Mega Bits Per Second, not Mega Bytes) This should be plenty of bandwidth for 160Kbps mp3 music.

Combined with internet sharing you may find your music skips a little when someone does something on the internet that requires a lot of bandwidth.

Wired networks can run at 100Mbps.
Home radio stations on cable or DSL broadcast MP3 music and voice 128kbps.

I have a wired network at 10Mbps, with 2 1+Ghz machines on win98se. I can listen to mp3 from on system while I'm on the internet. It may skip a little once in a while but not enough to be upsetting.

So I would say, in my humble opinion, if you have the money go wireless it is less of a headache then running wire.
There are drawbacks. If you leave the network open without security then anyone can access your network. All they have to do is drive up close enough to your house to get the signal then they can get on the network. So if you go wireless secure it.