connection speed bubble!


  #1  
Old 07-21-03, 09:08 AM
sparkeycars
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
connection speed bubble!

Hi Guys, I have windows xp on my computer,an new one. How do i get that bubble message sayin (connection too --- ------- is now connected at speed 36.6.no to show up. I heard there was a way. I don't want to figure it out myself, afraid i will mess something up.

Thank's Gary Mc
 
  #2  
Old 07-21-03, 09:29 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,627
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally posted on Annoyances.org:
re: Disable connection message bubble - ?
Tuesday, March 5, 2002 at 3:58 pm
Windows XP Annoyances Discussion Forum
Posted by Bob Cerelli

1. Start Regedit
2. Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced\
3. Change the value of EnableBalloonTips from 1 to 0

Bob


On Tuesday, March 5, 2002 at 12:24 pm, Mike Higgins wrote:
>I use a modem and Earthlink. When I connect I get a little cartoon type bubble
that
>says "you are now connected to earthlink................"
>Anyone know how to prevent this bubble from appearing?
>
>Also I dont have a sound when I make a connection / disconnection to my ISP.
>Anyone know how i can add a connect / disconnect sound?
>
>TIA
>Mike
I haven't tried this personally, so I don't know if it will disable all bubble messages or not. Try it and let us know how it works.

WARNING: Be very careful editing the registry - you can seriously damage your computer.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-03, 06:57 PM
green jacket's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Williamsport and Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Posts: 489
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There's another way to enable/disable the bubble messages.
Is has to do with personalized preferences, for each user account on the system. I don;t have the instructions in fron of me, I need to look it up in PCmagazine.
(Non-registry edit I think)

gj
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-03, 07:00 PM
leadarrows's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Alexandria, Indiana
Posts: 32
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have an H-P with Windows XP home addition.
To change those settings I just go to Start--Connect To--Right Click on your provider click properties click options. You can make the changes there.
My provider is nraonline so that might make a difference I don't know I don't have anything else to compare it to.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: