New Dell Computer

Old 10-10-03, 12:18 AM
Cor56
Visiting Guest
New Dell Computer

I am having problems with my new Dell 4600 Dimension. While online it will go to a Blue Screen, saying A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer, etc. This happens at least once a day and it's a real pain. Not sure what to do. Have read a few articles on this but I'm not technically inclined. Stop errors are 0x0000008E, 0xC0000005, 0xF85C827A, 0xF897D9A8, and 0x00000000. I would assume this shouldn't be happening, the computer is only 2 weeks old, and this has been happening since the first day I got it.

Any help would be appreciated!

Cor56

Old 10-10-03, 03:45 AM
mudder
Visiting Guest
i would call dell support as its a brand new computer

Old 10-10-03, 04:21 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
virus?

Sounds like you have a virus. Did you get anti-virus software installed on the new computer? When did you last update it? Anti-virus companies provide updates at least once a week. I think the latest SoBig virus was released last week.

First update your anti-virus. Then run a full virus scan on everything, including the RAM. If you don't know how to do this, call Dell support.

BTW - does this happen on one particular site or just random?
Are you using dial-up, cable, DSL? Do you have a firewall?

Old 10-10-03, 04:59 AM
Also try to download and run
Spybot
http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...d,22262,00.asp
and Adaware
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

I had similar problems with one last week and it turned out to be spyware.

Check these Knowledgebase articles:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...&Product=msie5
http://support.microsoft.com/default...&Product=msie5

Old 10-11-03, 09:25 PM
Cor56
Good, you have written down the exact stop errors!
Each one identifies an exact problem, such as bad RAM.
If you do some searching, you can find the explanations for them.