Running virus scanners In safe mode?


  #1  
Old 10-18-03, 08:28 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Running virus scanners In safe mode?

Is It o.k to run virus scanners In safe mode...?
 
  #2  
Old 10-18-03, 12:01 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why wouldn't it be?

Most anti virus software packages recommend this, especially if you think you may have a virus.

You should also turn off system restore if you think you have a virus, or are planning on following instructions to remve a virus. (System restore only applies to Windows XP or Windows MyEnemy.)
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-03, 01:37 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
virus scanners

I always was able to run ad-aware without going to safe mode ?but It seems since I downloaded USB drivers so I could use a digital camera ad-aware was slowing down...so I thought I would try It In safe mode to see If It would finish faster...I never tried It yet In safe mode but what I did was take my programs down In msconfig & completed a scan with ad-aware..No viruses It took a lot longer to complete a scan thou..I use windows 98se..any comment?
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-03, 05:32 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ad aware is not a virus scanner. It's a spyware scanner. For more info on spyware, go here:
http://forum.doityourself.com/showth...527#post404377

The more files that are on your computer, the longer any scanning type program will take, whether it's ad aware, or disk defragmenter, or norton antivirus. Go ahead and try it in safemode.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-03, 04:16 AM
raharold's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in the armpit of the nation
Posts: 177
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I personally think Spybot is better than Ad Aware. It's free to download but they ask for donations which you can give later if you like. I liked it enough to give.

Ross
 

Last edited by SafeWatch; 10-19-03 at 08:24 AM.
  #6  
Old 10-19-03, 04:43 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
scanners

Thanks a bunch for the help..I'll be wiser now for sure..I've got spybot..also AG 6.0
& ad-aware.I'll do all maintenance In safe mode from now on.
 
  #7  
Old 10-19-03, 08:00 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
safe mode-windows xp

Well then It would be alright to do all maintenance In safe mode with windows xp also then?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: