backup error!


  #1  
Old 10-26-03, 10:41 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
backed up files to C-DRIVE

I have windows 98se I did a back up I backed up my files to the C-DRVE,When I finished It said back up Is complete with some errors reported?The computer can still operate like this right?



I moved this to it's own thread.--Tae
 

Last edited by tae; 10-26-03 at 06:19 PM.
  #2  
Old 10-26-03, 10:43 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
above post was suppose to be seperate post

I meant the above response to be a new thread
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-03, 11:47 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
las,

It can. The types of errors would be what mattered. If the files had symbolic links with them, that would generate an error because the symlink could not be backed up unless the file to which is linked is backed up with the directory structure intact.

Check your log to see what the errors were.
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-03, 05:27 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
some errors no big deal?

So then If what you indicated Is so It's no big deal to have a few errors then right?
It ain't going to hinder the operation of the computer?
 
  #5  
Old 10-27-03, 06:16 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
backup TO c drive?

Did you mean you backed up the files on the c drive to a CD or other media?

What were the errors?
What did you use to do the backup?

Yes, the computer should operate ok.
 
  #6  
Old 10-27-03, 06:47 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Microsoft backup-untilted

I didn't put a disk In.I just back up to the c-drive so I presume It's all back up & on the C- DriveExample:C:\mybackup.qic
took about three and half hours to defrag also..so I presume It's because the c Drive had a lot more info stored on It.What you say?
 
  #7  
Old 10-27-03, 07:17 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I say that defeats the purpose of doing a backup at all - what if you can't boot your C-Drive?
 
  #8  
Old 10-27-03, 08:03 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yep...

What files did you backup?

Sounds like what you did was backup files on the hard drive to the same hard drive. All this does is give you a quick restore if you delete one of the files. It does nothing to recover the files if the hard drive crashes.

The purpose of back-ups is to be able to recover the files in case of a hard drive problem. You backup the files onto some kind of removable media or on-line storage. This used to be done using floppies. But with files getting so much bigger and people having so many more files, floppies are too small. CD burners are so cheap today, most are using them. You could burn a CD-RW, but with CD-Rs so cheap, its just as easy to burn one of them and build up a library of back-ups.

Another option is a zip drive.

With the files on a removable media. even with a hard drive crash, you still have the files.
 
  #9  
Old 10-27-03, 08:38 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yup I understand

So Is there any way of undoing what
i did..all I did was create a bunch more stuff for the hard drive to look after
i want to undo everything?
 
  #10  
Old 10-27-03, 11:24 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
C-DRIVE

Do you think It Is taking up to much space on my c drive or not enough to worry over
just let it go at that?what ya say?
 
  #11  
Old 10-27-03, 01:43 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless the backup files serve some purpose, delete them. I thought you made the backup in order to burn it to a cd or export it somewhere.
 
  #12  
Old 10-27-03, 01:59 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
How to delete that back up file?

I'm not sure how to delete It could you help?I do not seem to get the opportunity
to delete them please explain?
 
  #13  
Old 10-27-03, 04:57 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Going to disagree for now?

Oh I think has far as windows 98se goes
I might be able to get away with what I did..I'll just write It all off has experience
thanks for all the help
 
  #14  
Old 10-27-03, 05:09 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
C:\mybackup.qic
If this is how the file is named simply right click on it and select delete.
 
  #15  
Old 10-28-03, 03:34 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I deleted the backup

I should of known how to do something has simple has that..well It's done just went Into my computer and right clicked It
& It's all deleted..I think I saved close to 500 mb of space.Thanks a bunch
 
  #16  
Old 10-28-03, 03:41 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
2.05 G.B free space

I checked and done a belarc advisor and I now got 2.05 G.B of free hard drive space now....good lesson learned thanks a lot for your help.
 
  #17  
Old 10-28-03, 04:28 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're welcome

No go get that cd burner and do a proper backup.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: