How to kill a process that has quit responding

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-03, 07:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to kill a process that has quit responding

Win XP home. Athlon 2000+, 512 MB ram. A window popped up just a few moments ago FTP Folder Error "Windows cannot access folder. Make sure you typed the name correctly and that you have permission to access the folder." Details: "Operation timed out." I clicked on the link 2 hours ago.

This window won't close. The cursor shows an hourglass when over this window. Otherwise things appear normal.

Control-Alt-Delete - Windows Task Manager does not show a runaway process. How do you end or kill this process, even how to identify it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-05-03, 09:05 PM
jcrawshaw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Make sure you look under the "applications" tab in task manager and not the "processes" tab.

James
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-03, 09:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nothing listed that is not otherwise working properly.
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-03, 09:58 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you can't find the process (or application), you could just logoff of WinXP and log back on. Of course, you'll need to save everything and shutdown other programs first.

You could also try shutting down processes that you don't need and see if you can find it.

If it's using any CPU processes (unlikely) you could look at the CPU usage column to try to narrow it down.

Other than that, there's not much you can really do. It sounds like a system process though - so that narrows it slightly.

Of course, it's probably an Explorer process - so it's not going to show up anyway. You could, however, end the Explorer process and it will automatically restart, but some programs will be missing from the Task Bar.

Good luck!
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-03, 05:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have run into this before. I have just ignored the window (fortunately it let me put other windows on top of it). Eventually I got around to rebooting and of course that took care of the problem.

By the way, if you are going to go to the trouble of logging out to fix the problem, you might as well reboot. Since you are not sure exactly what caused the problem, and since windows is known to be less than perfect, why press it.
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-03, 07:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When I logged out and logged back in, it went away. It wasn't causing any problems, it was just there.
 
  #7  
Old 11-06-03, 01:24 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yup Reboot

I also believe re booting would take care of the problem?
I know some people that won't reboot thou cause there scared
they are going to loose something by re booting...some files etc. etc.
I've gotten into problems similar I had to reboot run scan disk
maybe run a virus program and It solves the problem..but no
I can't guaratee you won't loose programs thou?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: