Wireless Lan Problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-25-03, 08:24 AM
C
ChrisInMD
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wireless Lan Problems

When I first installed the Linksys 802.11b wireless router and 3 wireless ports, everything worked like a charm -- for 2 months. They I downloaded and installed a firewall (McAfee) and ruined everything to the point that I think I will dump the wireless and go to wired. Here is the problem.

I conntec my cable modem to the Linksys router. The computer that is hard wired to the router works fine, but my computer, which is wireless, does not work. The Linksys software says "You are connected to the network but the internet cannot be found."

I disabled and uninstalled the firewall -- no change. I can ping www.linksys.com, I can ping the routher, but I cannot connect to the internet using IE. It seems something is blocking me from accessing the internet, but I can't figure out what. Over the last several days I've spent nearly 4 hours on the phone with Linksys and they finally gave up. Any of you have any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-25-03, 08:29 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you can ping LinkSys and the router, then you are connected and have a route to the internet.

It sounds like some settings in the computer have been changed (possibly in IE?) I would try uninstalling IE completely and do a fresh install of it. Try uninstalling the wireless card (make sure you remove it from the Device Manager) then reinstall it exactly as the instructions recommend - if it's USB, plug it in after the computer is up and running, etc. Basically, the idea is to get all of the settings back to their defaults (pre-McAfee install.)

Try that and let's see how it goes.
 
  #3  
Old 11-25-03, 08:54 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Technically, this is a problem with settings somewhere. As Safewatch said, if you can ping an internet site, you have a path. If it worked before McAfee, it will work. You should try to return to the pre-McAfee state.

Hope this helps.
 
  #4  
Old 11-25-03, 10:36 AM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
About configuring Mcafee firewall 3:
http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=121106

Uninstall for xp:
http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=121298
Uninstall for win2k:
http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=121183
Uninstall for ME and 9x:
http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=121176


A main page for mcafee products/problems. I don't know your os or your mcafee version. It may be that it didnt fully uninstall, or some ie settings may need to be changed. This page(scroll down to your version of firewall) should be of some help.

http://tools.sento.com/?language=Canada-English
or here:
http://tools.sento.com/?language=US-English%20MSN
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: