using a TV instead of a monitor

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-03, 04:09 AM
gmcfan
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
using a TV instead of a monitor

Hello all! I have a computer with a Matrox Millinium Video card, and was wondering if I can hook it up to a TV that doesnt have an imput for a monitor cable. Is there an adaptor that I can plug into the Card, and then into the back of the TV, like an RCA setup? Or do I have to go and by a TV for this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-03, 07:18 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
* Edited - This has nothing to do with the question *
 

Last edited by SafeWatch; 12-01-03 at 05:36 PM.
  #3  
Old 11-30-03, 09:52 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the card has TV out, it can be connected. Check for TV out on the card or in the owner's manual.
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-03, 11:26 AM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which model matrox do you have?

Do you have rca plugs on the tv? Maybe something like this would help:
http://www.cablestogo.com/product.as...2012&sku=27991
They have a pretty good selection of different cables.

You could always hook the computer to the vcr if the tv doesnt have anything. Do a search for "pc to tv" or Matrox Millinium (whatever your model is) to tv.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-03, 05:45 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can get a VGA to NTSC adapter fairly cheap.

About 10 years ago when I bought my first computer (a Hewlett-Packard of all things), this is exactly what I did - I almost miss using that 27" TV for gaming

I used something like an AiTech adapter or something like that to get an RCA video out and it also had a VGA output (to connect both the TV and a monitor, if you want.)

I tried a search over at TigerDirect.com and came up with <a href="http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=316&id=3174">this</a> - take a look and get an idea for what you want to use. A TV is not going to have as high of resolution as a monitor, but it works just fine.

Good luck!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: