Internet Explorer problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-03, 01:23 PM
sir_jeffrence
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Internet Explorer problems

I have a laptop computer that is connected to the internet through a wireless NIC card that connects to a router. Everything works fine on the computer and the other day I could not connect through Internet Explorer. The connection to the router is just fine and I also have Mozilla and am able to get on the internet. I can also connect through everything else from Windows Media Player to Quicktime. Something is wrong with Internet Explorer. I have checked the settings through Internet Options and everything seems just fine and I have tried installing Internet Explorer w/ Service Pack 1. I'm at a loss as to what the problem could be.???? Any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-02-03, 02:30 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You haven't said what your problem is.

Does Internet Explorer crash? Does it come up and hang? Does it access files on your disk properly? Does it access web sites by IP address but not by URL? You need to tell us HOW Internet Explorer does not work.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-03, 04:40 PM
sir_jeffrence
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
When I click on Internet Explorer and it loads up it says "This page cannot be displayed" I used different URLs as well as their IP addresses. The web pages do not display at all, it doesn't hang or crash, it does exactely the same as if you had no internet connection and tried to open Internet Explorer. Like I said, the internet connection is just fine for I am able to access the internet through every other program I have except Internet Explorer.
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-03, 05:13 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might check to see if the security level has been set too high.

The service pack update did not help?

You might try to repair it. Start, Settings, Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs, select Microsoft Internet Explorer, click on remove. A dialogue box will give you an option to repair. Give that a try.

Hope this helps.
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-03, 05:25 PM
sir_jeffrence
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
All security levels are set on the default which is medium. The update did not do the trick. About the add/remove programs menu, thats the thing, Microsoft Internet Explorer is not there. When I updated it to Service Pack 1, then SP1 was there but I removed that. I thought there should be a way to uninstall Internet Explorer but like I said, its not in the add/remove programs menu.
 
  #6  
Old 12-03-03, 04:10 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I get that once in a while

I was working for about an hour a couple nights ago and started getting that same thing - on pages I had just been to only 15 minutes earlier.

Came back a while later and got right back in.

Are you still having problems?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: