Uh,oh!!!!

Old 03-02-04, 01:20 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Uh,oh!!!!

I'm getting bombarded with some kind of virus being sent thru my e-mail address.
yesterday i got the first one,and today i got 2 more. scanned with my virus protection and the results were,"will not open, virus present." i immediately deleted the e-mail and did a virus scan
with Norton and avantage. nothing showed up.
I have,supposesidely,the e-mail addresses that showed in the e-mail address window.
I hope i did the right thing in deleting this junk,as i read this forum on taking precautions. i guess someone or something has my e-mail address and is trying to "get me".
i need some advice on how to handle this stuff. i'm new to all this and am very concerned.
HELP!!!!!Please

Old 03-02-04, 02:14 PM
R
Do not assume that someone is trying to get you.

Most viruses that are spread via email are spread without the sender's knowledge. In fact, they may not even have been sent from the person they appear to have been sent from.

Many viruses are written to either send infected emails to everyone listed in the infected computer's email address book and/or to any email address they can find on the infected user's computer, finding email addresses in documents, cached web pages, saved emails and many other places.

Further, some viruses disguise the emails they send to look like they came from somewhere/someone else, to make them harder to trace.

All that you for sure is that someone has a virus infecting their PC and that your email address most likely came from somewhere on that user's PC.