Win 98 and scan disc


  #1  
Old 03-04-04, 10:31 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 260
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Win 98 and scan disc

I shut off everything but Explorer and Systray, scan disc still get stopped by a "running" program.......any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 03-04-04, 11:12 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shut down and restart Windows in Safe Mode (press F8 after the POST beep) - run defrag and scandisk from Safe Mode.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-04, 01:19 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
scandisk

You can get away with running a quick system check with
scan disk without going Into safemode...usually I find If I delete the temporary files and cookies and clear history I can get away with a quick version of scandisk without going Into safemode
same goes with ad-aware I can do the quick fast version of ad-aware
without going Into safe mode but I have to go Into safemode to
do a defrag there Is no other way to complete It with my O.S.
windows 98/SE.I presume you got windows 98 right..!
 
  #4  
Old 03-04-04, 02:43 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
las...
why can't you defrag from windows? Do you get an error message or does it just hang and take forever? Windows 98 is notorious for scandisk/defrag problems, but there are workarounds/problem solvers. Even though it is best to use safemode, why not try to get it fixed?
 
  #5  
Old 03-04-04, 02:58 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
safemode

I believe In going Into safemode to do maintenance esp.
with my O.S. but that Is mainly for a defrag cause I'm getting
away with the short quick version without going Into safemode
but has far as a defrag goes there Is no defrag unless It Is
In safemode cause It won't finish otherwise?It took me a long time to learn that I figured I could schedule maintenance with
windows 98/SE no way with windows xp maybe yes thats a differant story.That Is how you fix a problem Is by going Into
safemode I just hold and keep tapping the f-5 key works
everytime..take a little bit of time getting Into safemode thou..!
 
  #6  
Old 03-04-04, 05:29 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One interrupting nemesis may be the screen saver.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: