Win 98 and scan disc

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-04, 10:31 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 260
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Win 98 and scan disc

I shut off everything but Explorer and Systray, scan disc still get stopped by a "running" program.......any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-04, 11:12 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shut down and restart Windows in Safe Mode (press F8 after the POST beep) - run defrag and scandisk from Safe Mode.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-04, 01:19 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
scandisk

You can get away with running a quick system check with
scan disk without going Into safemode...usually I find If I delete the temporary files and cookies and clear history I can get away with a quick version of scandisk without going Into safemode
same goes with ad-aware I can do the quick fast version of ad-aware
without going Into safe mode but I have to go Into safemode to
do a defrag there Is no other way to complete It with my O.S.
windows 98/SE.I presume you got windows 98 right..!
 
  #4  
Old 03-04-04, 02:43 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
las...
why can't you defrag from windows? Do you get an error message or does it just hang and take forever? Windows 98 is notorious for scandisk/defrag problems, but there are workarounds/problem solvers. Even though it is best to use safemode, why not try to get it fixed?
 
  #5  
Old 03-04-04, 02:58 PM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
safemode

I believe In going Into safemode to do maintenance esp.
with my O.S. but that Is mainly for a defrag cause I'm getting
away with the short quick version without going Into safemode
but has far as a defrag goes there Is no defrag unless It Is
In safemode cause It won't finish otherwise?It took me a long time to learn that I figured I could schedule maintenance with
windows 98/SE no way with windows xp maybe yes thats a differant story.That Is how you fix a problem Is by going Into
safemode I just hold and keep tapping the f-5 key works
everytime..take a little bit of time getting Into safemode thou..!
 
  #6  
Old 03-04-04, 05:29 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One interrupting nemesis may be the screen saver.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: