PHP vs Java, PERL & C

Old 03-07-04, 02:08 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PHP vs Java, PERL & C

Can anyone enlighten me on the difference. I've never used PHP although I understand it is used quite a lot in web scripting these days. Am I right in assuming that this forum uses PHP.

Old 03-07-04, 07:27 AM
C
I am not a programmer. The explanation would be akin to the ins and outs of home decor.

Suffice it to say that they are different programming languages. This is a distilled version of my take on it all.

Java is a cross-platform environment that will run on any operating system that has Java installed. In other words, the same program will run on Windows and Linux.

PHP and Perl are generally scripting languages or used to create scripts that run on the appropriate platform to perform certain tasks. For instance, a web site needs a hit counter to track visits. The site owner might install a Perl script to perform this task. PHP is used in much the same way.

C and C+, ++ are programming languages. Along with the others, they can be used to write entire applications.

Some programmers use one or the other out of preference or need. Everyone seems to like or dislike one or the other for all the same reasons. There is much more to all the various programming languages and how and when they are used.

I have read books on the various programming languages. Since I don't use them for anything I don't have a feel for any of the fine points.

If you have an interest in one or the other of them, you might check into a web site or book dedicated to it. There might be a walk-through for the unitiated. As I said, I have read the books. I don't know the languages and all the applications.

Hope this helps.

Old 03-07-04, 09:52 AM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Since it seems you are comparing languages for use on the internet, I'll go by that.