modem problem


  #1  
Old 03-12-04, 04:20 PM
bigdupa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
modem problem

Win xp, soyo p4s dragon ultra motherboard, pentium 4, 256mb
msn9

problem: modem connection speed (dial-up) only 28-36 Kbps.

mb and chip only 6 months old. dialed up to the same isp (msn) and the
same number on the same line on my laptop and consistently connect
at 49-53 Kbps.
it's using com 3 - no problems
checked the port settings - o.k. (115200)
checked cmos settings - o.k.
checked for virus - none
tried to update driver - but the modem was pretty old - aha! bought
brand new modem (best data 56k v.92) with xp drivers - same problem.
last resort - changed pci slot the modem was in - actually became
worse (only 21 Kbps).
could the pci bus be bad??? nothing else is on the pci.

also, noticed that xp was installed with fat32 instead of ntfs- could
that be a problem?

dont know what else to try - any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-04, 05:48 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It probably has something to do with protocol compatibility. For instance, is the number you're dialing v.90, v.92, or what? Secondly, once you find that info out, check what protocol you're modem uses. I'll bet you'll find that the other modem (the one that connected faster) used the same protocol as the server you dial. The new one probably doesn't. It can make a world of difference. Check on that first.

HTH,

Chris
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-04, 05:50 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
remember that connection speeds are not static. They can and will fluccuate up and down during the session. just because it says you connected at one speed, doesn't mean it stays there. Is the connection slower to you?


here's a good troubleshooting/info page:
http://www.56k.com/trouble/connect.shtml
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-04, 06:36 AM
bigdupa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks guys.

yeah, the slow connection really is noticeable because it's usually in the 20's - very rarely will it even get to 30's.

as i was lying awake all damn night i came to the conclusion that it had to be the protocols.
however, i'm having trouble finding where to set them in xp. i can't find any telphony or anything and when i try to add communication programs from the xp disk it offers some extra fax software and the like but nothing that will help with protocols.

thanks again - i'll keep you posted.
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-04, 07:16 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm no modem EXPERT, but there are no protocols to "set" in XP. They are hardwired chips right on the modems, can't change 'em. Anyone else know if I'm wrong or not? Contact your ISP and ask them which protocol the number you dial uses. Then, check if your modem uses that protocol. If not, buy another modem that does and it should help a bit.

Chris
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-04, 07:20 AM
bigdupa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
what the *&*^%&$$??

i go to network connections, click on my connection, click on change settings for this connection - and all i get is the advanced tab to enable the xp firewall.
no other tabs - xp help tells me to click on the networking tab - there is no networking tab - there is no general tab - there is no other tab

the same is true for xp on my laptop
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-04, 08:34 AM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
poke around here:
http://modemsite.com/56k/trouble.asp

Alot of information!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: