CD-ROM problem (W95)

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-04, 03:54 PM
houseman's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
CD-ROM problem (W95)

My old PC (1997) has Windows 95. It has always run fine, but recently the CD-ROM suddenly stopped working. When I insert a CD in it, the yellow indicator light blinks a few times, then goes off.

When I click on "Run ...", I get a message saying "d:\ is not accessible. The device is not ready."

When I click on "Properties" in Device Manager, it says "This device is working properly."

Yeah, I know it's W95, but I kinda like it and I'd hate to let it go.

Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-13-04, 04:45 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try swapping the cable, then the drive. This drive is a bit long in the tooth.

Nothing wrong with Win95 if it works.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-04, 05:37 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
and try multiple cd discs. Could be a bad disk.
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-04, 06:04 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These guys are right. It's probably just that the CD drive has finally failed (being a mechanical device, they all die eventuallt). I doubt anything is wrong with Windows. Try their suggestions, and if all that fails, you can buy a new CD drive at a local store for $20 or less. If there are any computer shows in your area, you could get one for even less.

Cheers,

Chris
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-04, 06:17 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My old PC (1997) has Windows 95. It has always run fine
I'd say you're ahead of the game Even if you have to replace the CD drive, you're not doing too bad.
 
  #6  
Old 03-15-04, 07:48 AM
houseman's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for all your advice. It is much appreciated.

I tried various CDs in the drive. None of them worked, so the problem is with the drive.

I've never opened a PC before, but I guess it's time to start!

Thanks.
 
  #7  
Old 03-15-04, 07:59 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're welcome. Even if you've never done it before, replacing a CD drive is about the easiest thing you can do being a first timer. Follow the instructions with the new drive and you shouldn't have any trouble. If you have any other questions, post here and we'll help out, man.

Good luck!

Chris
 
  #8  
Old 03-15-04, 09:23 AM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since I just hurd that you never open a pc before, I just wanted to let you know that in all these years you have probably accumilated alot of dust in there. When you replace your cdrom drive, it would be a great idea to blow everything out with compressed air. My best bet is to take your computer outside and do this so that way dust does not get all over everything. Well good luck...
 
  #9  
Old 03-15-04, 07:06 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Don't blow compressed air inside an optical drive.
 
  #10  
Old 03-16-04, 07:49 AM
houseman's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good advice about the dust...

I'll try and get to it this weekend (procrastinator? who me?) and let you all know how it goes!
 
  #11  
Old 03-17-04, 06:14 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NE Conus
Posts: 509
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houseman;
If you never replaced a drive before, it is painless. Just follow the safety precautions of turning off the power, disconect the computer from a power source, don't wear bracelets / rings/ watches/ etc while inside the cabinet!
Also after turning it off, let it sit for awhile ( 10 minutes is usually good) to let any residual power supply, power down. Also, I would suggest, that you invest in a small computer tool kit. They usually cost about 8 or 9 dollars! Cheaper at trade shows! These are antimagnetic and include some good tweezers for those screws!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: