Lan Cable Connector


  #1  
Old 08-06-04, 05:02 PM
faysalji
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lan Cable Connector

Hello,

I made a LAN cable using an RJ45 connector. When I insert the one end of the cable to the computer and the other to the hub the green light on the hub starts blinking. It should not be blinking!

I made it again and again but the situation remains the same. Anyone know what the problem might be? And what is the blinking light indicating?

If you can help, Id appreciate it.

Harry
 

Last edited by WorldBuilder; 08-06-04 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Re-typed to remove upper case
  #2  
Old 08-06-04, 05:13 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Are you connecting the cable to the correct connector of the hub? What do the instruction that came with the hub say about a blinking LED?

And please don't type in all uppercase letters, it is considered yelling.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-04, 06:43 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,463
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I doubt it's the cable causing the problem. Have you tried different ports on the hub? What make/model hub is it?

Chris
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-04, 08:15 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,627
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Did you wire it as a cross-over cable or a straight-through cable? Sounds like you may be wiring the connectors wrong, but that's just a guess.

We really need more info on your hub.
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-04, 09:47 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,451
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
you don't mention the hub model,the setup, or anything, but doesn't the blinking light mean there is information/signal being transfered? are you sure your computer is not trying to send something out or receive something? Is the hub connected to anything yet? is the computer off or on? is it for phone,dsl,cable?
is it the power light,lan light,wan light,? is the network ready?
 
  #6  
Old 08-09-04, 05:42 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,986
Received 500 Upvotes on 410 Posts
Don't about a hub but on my PC when I plug in a proper LAN cable the LED on the card comes on. If I plug in a bad cable no LED.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: