Mouse settings changing on their own?

Old 09-30-04, 12:25 AM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mouse settings changing on their own?

This one has me stumped, and I've been building computers for about 10 years. I'm using a Logitech optical scroll mouse and I'm using the middle button to access the 'BACK' function in IE. I've been using the same setup for about 2 years now, without a change in hardware. Now, the setting for the middle button will change to 'UNIVERSAL SCROLL' on it's own. Sometimes, I can change it back with control panel, sometimes not. Usually it will change back by on its own, after closing Internet Explorer, or sometimes if the computer isn't used for several hours. Also, my wife has noticed that when playing Solitare, the speed of the cursor will be slow, one day, and fast the next day.

My system is Asus MB, running 1.2 AMD T'bird processor, 512 mem, running Windows ME. I'm running Norton anti-virus, Zone Alarm, and Pop-Up Stopper. I've run Ad-Aware and Spybot, and have found nothing.

Has anyone ever seen this before?

I've also tried uninstalling and reinstalling the mouse, with latest drivers, but it didn't help.

Thanks in advance,
Nashcat

Sponsored Links
Old 09-30-04, 05:33 AM
I use the Logitech Navigator duo, cordless mouse and keyboard set. Had alot of problems like you said, though many more with the keyboard than mouse. Their support is a joke. My keyboard 'hotkeys' such as volume control, etc. constantly rearrange themselves. Try pulling the batteries out of the device, and unplugging the receiver from the ps2 in back of the tower. Let it sit for a bit and plug back in. It seems to bring mine back to life, maybe it will help yours too.

Old 09-30-04, 08:46 PM
tae