Norton

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-04, 11:48 AM
missdee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Norton

I just recentily bought Compaq Presario computer and I'm running windows xp.
I bought Northon Antivirus 2005 and I got it installed try to run the update and I can't get the definition and the Symantec trusted aplication list. I done everything it has told me to do but it stilll won't work. Can anyone help me. Denise
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
 

Last edited by twelvepole; 10-28-04 at 07:29 PM. Reason: Posted email address & taking discussion off forum
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-04, 02:48 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Windows XP has a built in firewall. It may not be allowing norton to access the required port it. The mods in here can help you determine if this is the problem or not. My Two Cents...
 
  #3  
Old 10-28-04, 03:34 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I doubt that's it because I THINK that on XP the firewall is disabled by default. If the machine has SP2 then it would be on. However, I don't think the machine would have SP2 on it, even being new.

BUT... Compaq may have turned on the firewall. Check that.

Direct from XP:
Open Network Connections
Click the Dial-up, LAN or High-Speed Internet connection that you want to protect, and then, under Network Tasks, click Change settings of this connection.
On the Advanced tab, under Internet Connection Firewall, select one of the following:
To enable Internet Connection Firewall (ICF), select the Protect my computer and network by limiting or preventing access to this computer from the Internet check box.
To disable Internet Connection Firewall, clear the Protect my computer and network by limiting or preventing access to this computer from the Internet check box.
Notes

To open Network Connections, click Start, point to Settings, click Control Panel, and then double-click Network Connections.
You must be logged on as an administrator or a member of the Administrators group in order to complete this procedure. If your computer is connected to a network, network policy settings may also prevent you from completing this procedure.
If you clear the Protect my computer and network by limiting or preventing access to this computer from the Internet check box, the firewall on your computer is disabled, and your network is vulnerable to intrusions.
HTH,

Chris
 
  #4  
Old 10-28-04, 07:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How recent is recent? Computers shipping now have with Windows XP have service pack 2 installed. It has been this way for a while now, although I forget the exact date that it started.
 
  #5  
Old 10-28-04, 07:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,834
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Norton Virus

Just bought two new computers for work with Windows XP and no problem with Norton. Windows XP has its own firewall, but I have had no problems installing Norton on new computers and getting updates. Contact Compaq and/or Norton to find out what is going on. If you get a tech that is not helpful or you do not understand this person, call back and you will luckily get a more helpful person and one that has a better command of the English language. I don't mean to say that in any way to insult or be putting anyone down, but sometimes I encounter techs whom I have difficulty understanding and they obviously can't understand me. So, I call back.

I usually do this in the middle of the night when no one is awake because they offer 24 hour service. It is amazing the difference in talking with different reps.
 
  #6  
Old 10-29-04, 06:46 AM
las
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Norton new computers

Norton I believe is meant for the biggest and best computers In order to work properly..does Norton have it's own firewall..or are you using both?
If It was myself I probably would opt for one or the other In order to speed the computer up..I do not know Norton very well but I know what others say?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes