Windows troubleshooting problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-04, 05:58 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 267
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Windows troubleshooting problem

Good morning. I am having problems with my trouble shooting program. I can open the help program via start, open troubleshooting , select the issue that I want to troubleshoot, then get to the window that reads "what problem are you having." I make my selection in the menu with a "tic", click next and I get a blank screen. Thats as far as it goes. Can anyone explain, or suggest a fix other than reload my os. I am using Windows 98se. as always, thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 12-10-04, 07:13 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,398
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
hi
win98 se has lots of updated to download from microsoft.
I would check microsoft for update and they scan your computer for problem.
cheers

pg
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-04, 06:45 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have you restarted the computer? Does the problem exist in Safe Mode, too?
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-04, 07:03 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 267
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chris:, yes and yes
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-04, 10:10 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Windows 98 is getting rather stale in my mind. You may be able to look in add - remove programs, add - remove windows components and uninstall the troubleshooter; then install it again. The function is part of Windows, so you should be able to reclaim it. Sometimes it is difficult to troubleshoot problems out of sight.

You could try an in-place re-installation of Windows. This will return all the windows functions and files to the original state. Problem here is that you will need to get many updates to bring it up to where is should be.

Hope this helps.
 
  #6  
Old 12-11-04, 10:34 AM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
WinXP Home for $90.00 bucks man. Save up and buy it. Then you can get SP2 free from Microsoft for it.
 
  #7  
Old 12-11-04, 12:40 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you buy Windows XP now it will be service pack 2, you won;t need to install it separately.

However, not every computer can (or should) run Windows XP.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: