Win XP Pro / Home

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-25-04, 05:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 67
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Win XP Pro / Home

My sons computer had a problem about 3 months ago. He took it to a friend of a friend who took care of the problem.
When he gave him the computer it had Win XP Home (with licence) installed on it, however when he got it back it had Win XP Pro installed on it.
He said/did nothing and kept on using the computer.
My ?? is how can we remove XP Pro and reinstall his licenced Win XP home? He has the disk with the licence etc.
Will all the programs have to be reinstalled?
What about all the files?
Appreciate all responses
Thanks
 

Last edited by Repairman22; 12-25-04 at 08:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-26-04, 06:25 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ah, Pandora's Box...

Your son's friend did a no-no. To put back on Home edition, you simply need the CD, however...

I assume this is an OEM computer, ie a Dell, Sony, HP, etc?

It will have "restore CD's", not simply an XP Home CD. That's probably why your son's friend put on Pro, because he had a lone CD and a hack...

If you run the restore CD's, ALL the programs that were ORIGINALLY installed when you bought the machine will be back, but whatever you added will be gone and will require reinstallation. In other words, restore CD's, well resotre the system back to DAY ONE. That's their purpose.

So, you'll need to do that. Backup any and all files you don't want to lose, then put them back after your restore.

Or...

Just leave it be. I won't tell... (Not good moral or legal advice, however).

Chris
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-04, 08:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 67
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply Chris.
This computer is "home made" I purchased the XP Home edition disk for it.
What you are saying is all the programs and associated files will have to be reinstalled? ie same as formatting HD and a new XP Home edition install.
Seems a pretty radicle solution.
Apparently his only problem was, he could not install SP2. I'm not sure if thats good or bad.
Mike
 

Last edited by Repairman22; 12-26-04 at 09:32 AM.
  #4  
Old 12-26-04, 12:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It may be possible to perform an in situ installation of XP home.

Here's how: start from the Windows CD just as if you were going to do a fresh install. It's easy to become confused during this process, because the word repair appears in two different places when you start your computer using the Windows CD. At the Welcome to Setup screen, do not choose the option to repair your installation using the Recovery Console. Instead, press Enter, which starts the Windows Setup program. After you accept the license agreement, Windows searches yours system for existing Windows installations.

When you reach the screen that lists your current Windows installation, select it from the list and press R to start the repair process. The remainder of this procedure requires the same steps as if you were performing a clean installation; when Setup finishes, your System files should be refreshed and your existing data and setting should be accessible again.

Hope this helps.
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-04, 01:25 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Follow chfite's advice, he's right. It may be possible.

Chris
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-04, 04:54 PM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 806
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually it is unlikely that method will work. In order to perform a repair install on an existing installation, you must use the same version of XP (Home or Pro, retail or OEM, upgrade or full) that is installed or it will fail. The product key is checked during the repair and it must match the key it was originally installed with, and the keys are not compatible with a version different then what it shipped with.
 
  #7  
Old 12-26-04, 05:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That being the case, Davejb, a fresh installation looks to be his only option at this point. His friend did not do him any favors.
 
  #8  
Old 12-26-04, 05:20 PM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 806
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No he did not, but that is the kind of thing that can happen when the friend of a friend of your 3rd cousin's sister's boyfriend on your mothers side works on your PC
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: