Pop up ads


  #1  
Old 12-28-04, 10:09 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pop up ads

I have Ad-Aware and E Trust EZ Antivirus and I still get lots of pop up ads ranginig from free trips and virus protection >>>>>>>>> free computer scans and dating services.

Is there anything else I can do? A regular annoying address is http://xlimeoptimizer.com etc. They just take over until their window completely opens and causes delays on what I am trying to do.

Help!
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-04, 10:23 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,398
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
hi
check this url for help
http://www.pchell.com/

cheers
pgtek
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-04, 12:56 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To help with controlling popups, you can install the Google toolbar

http://toolbar.google.com

or use another browser, such as: Firefox. These two items have settings to stop popups, while enabling control to allow them from some sites as desired.

Hope this helps.
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-04, 03:15 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Much better

I upgraded Ad-Aware to the SE version and spent some time with my firewall program control. It's amazing to be able to open a window and not have garbage ad after garbage ad clogging up and slowing down my computer. I will also pursue your suggestions guys. When anything is working the way it is supposed to it's a wonderful world...

Thx again,
Tom
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-04, 07:26 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you didnt mention what operating system you were using. you may have the messenger service turned on, which is bad.
 
  #6  
Old 12-29-04, 06:03 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Windows XP

I have a Dell unit with Windows XP Home Edition. I don't download a lot of programs from out there but do have yahoo messenger-which I keep off 90% of the time.

I did see this morning a few of the old familiar pop ups coming back but not like before. If I have their address can't I stop them from invading my freedom of choice?

Tom
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-04, 06:06 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As chfite recommended, switch to Mozilla Firefox. You'll never see another popup (unless you allow it).

While I love the Google Toolbar, I've still experienced the occasional popup (when using IE).
 
  #8  
Old 12-29-04, 06:09 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Google toolbar

Chfite,

Won't using the Google toolbar require me to use Google as my default browser?

Tom
 
  #9  
Old 12-29-04, 06:43 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mozilla Firefox

I downloaded Firefox and imported all my settings from IE to it. It was quick and easy and so far so good.

Thx for tips all, I'll keep you posted...

Your guinea pig.
Tom
 
  #10  
Old 12-29-04, 09:24 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by chfite
To help with controlling popups, you can install the Google toolbar

http://toolbar.google.com

or use another browser, such as: Firefox. These two items have settings to stop popups, while enabling control to allow them from some sites as desired.
That's all I do.

Chris
 
  #11  
Old 12-29-04, 09:35 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by trs4594
Chfite,

Won't using the Google toolbar require me to use Google as my default browser?

Tom
Google's a search engine, not a browser.

If you mean default search engine, then, that is not a bad thing, as Google is the best.
 
  #12  
Old 12-29-04, 09:37 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by trs4594
I downloaded Firefox and imported all my settings from IE to it. It was quick and easy and so far so good.

Thx for tips all, I'll keep you posted...

Your guinea pig.
Tom
One thing to be aware of for people new to Firefox: it may not work with 100% of the websites you visit, although I can say that it probably works for about 95% of my web needs. You also must still use Internet Explorer when you do windows updates.
 
  #13  
Old 12-29-04, 11:56 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I meant search engine. I am using firefox and google and we'll see how things go.

Given the fact I am not as computer literate as I would like, I am suspicious of anything new, fearing to make a condition worse than it is. It was therefore tremendous to find DIY.com where I actually have been monitoring the electrical and small outdoor motor section.

I then noticed the computer section and it has been such a relief to get advice from the more experienced to help point me in the right direction. I also breezed down through the FAQ section by tae and learned some thing too.

Thx again to all,
Tom
 
  #14  
Old 12-29-04, 01:50 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's not at all unusual to be wary of new ways of doing things. Don't worry, you won't be sorry. My wife still adamantly refuses to put Firefox on her laptop, and, as the task of keeping her computer in working order falls on me, it is a constant battle to keep it running smoothly

If you run into the occasional problem with Firefox, come back here and post, as there are many folks here that will be glad to help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: