really speed up firefox!

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-04, 12:13 AM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
really speed up firefox!

Saw a useful guide on speeding up firefox for broadband users. basically after getting to the hidden config settings you set the browser to request more data that it usually does.

1.Type “about:config” into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

browser.turbo.enabled
network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows: (by double clicking)

Set "browser.turbo.enabled" to "True"

Set “network.http.pipelining” to “true”

Set “network.http.proxy.pipelining” to “true”

Set “network.http.pipelining.maxrequests” to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it “nglayout.initialpaint.delay” and set its value to “0”. This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.


If you’re using a broadband connection you’ll load pages MUCH faster now!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-04, 05:58 AM
prowallguy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 2,597
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I stumbled across these instructions about a week ago, did them, and it worked fabulously.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-04, 06:03 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just tried this, and I have to agree, it works beautifully.

Thanks, Tae!
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-04, 09:22 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yup, yup. Been doing that for ages.

You guys should also try the "moox" builds. I'm working on a build for a dual-proc, though, it's going to take a while...

Chris
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-04, 05:51 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These tweaks are the bomb.
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-04, 11:20 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just wanted to say

 
  #7  
Old 12-30-04, 01:05 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #8  
Old 12-30-04, 06:21 PM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 825
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great tips and links! I'm in the process of switching over to Firefox and Thunderbird, and needed some support resources.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-04, 09:32 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh Dave, you're gonna love it. Far superior!

Chris
 
  #10  
Old 12-31-04, 07:12 AM
Jason Lorette
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I just downloaded FF for the first time....wow...then I applied the tweaks...WOW!

Jason (going to play now) Lorette
 
  #11  
Old 01-02-05, 06:52 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dude! You're my hero! I just made the changes and almost feel the way I did when I upgraded to Broadband.

Thanks!
 
  #12  
Old 01-02-05, 07:11 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jason Lorette
I just downloaded FF for the first time....wow...then I applied the tweaks...WOW!

Jason (going to play now) Lorette
I love hearing this... Change is in the air! Bye-bye IE...

Chris
 
  #13  
Old 01-03-05, 04:31 AM
raharold's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in the armpit of the nation
Posts: 177
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Tae
 
  #14  
Old 01-17-05, 09:32 PM
G
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 209
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
WOW this thing is Awesome thanks alot
 
  #15  
Old 01-18-05, 04:29 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fiddling around with auto-config, I found the downward adjustment of “network.http.pipelining.maxrequests” from 30 to 10 better assures complete rendering of the web page, which was a problem, don't know why this is.

Also, there is the security option of turning off something called referrer, did it on a suggestion, don't recall how, but you can find out on the firefox forums.
 
  #16  
Old 01-21-05, 12:49 PM
tythetiger
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This really helped to convince my wife to let me install Firefox on her machine. She said it felt slower than IE but now she likes it just fine. We wont go back to IE and I tell all my friends to use Firefox and dump IE as the default browser. I even go to their houses to do it for them.
 
  #17  
Old 01-22-05, 10:40 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Groves, Texas
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I use and love Firefox....If only it could update Windows....Does anyone know if Mozilla is trying to find a work-around for this???

Thanks,
Matt
 
  #18  
Old 01-22-05, 03:39 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the automatic update feature is turned on in XP and service pack 2 is installed the updates should come automatically. This is the best way to maintain XP, for the typical user.

The requirement for Internet Explorer is something that appears to be coded into some sites. Spoofing IE with another browser works sometimes.

Hope this helps.
 
  #19  
Old 01-22-05, 03:54 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Groves, Texas
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Interesting....so there IS a way to get Windows updates using Firefox...

But what about us who've chosen to stick with 98SE as their OS?...

Tell me about "spoofing"...how do you "spoof"?...

Thanks,
Matt
 
  #20  
Old 01-24-05, 09:41 AM
Jason Lorette
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Confused?

I just recently started using MF and liked it so much that I even downloaded Thunderbird to try, but I need something explained to me...

I have a secure site that I have to go onto for work ( a la username and password) and "https" site and for some reason it totally "wigs out" in MF. None of the pictures load, only half the text and, barely any of the links? When I go to other secure sites (my banking) everything works fine?

Can anyone make sense of that?

JL - Thanks
 
  #21  
Old 01-24-05, 10:03 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not all sites will work with Firefox, although the vast majority of them will work just fine.
 
  #22  
Old 01-24-05, 02:26 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Groves, Texas
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, there are a few sites that have a problem w/Firefox....PC Pitstop is one...Windows Update...and a few other significant ones...

I read something today about a new version of FF, 1.1, that's tentatively scheduled for March....Maybe it'll address these issues...

Still, it's a fine, fine browser...

Matt
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: