Anyone use Norton Ghost Program??

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-05, 05:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Anyone use Norton Ghost Program??

Hi,

I bought Norton's Ghost program and I am trying to create an image of my HDD and store it on an external HDD. When I follow all of the Ghost instructions and it says that it is going to restart my computer, the computer restarts and then says something about not finding the D: drive (CD drive) and it says Abort, Retry, or Fail? and I tried Retry and it did nothing and then when I tried Abort, it booted into WinXP, but the Ghost program did not start making the image of my disk. What's wrong???

greenda4
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-05, 09:43 AM
Pendragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,844
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ghost is a DOS application (even though it has a windows interface available, when you reboot, it runs in dos), external (ie usb/firewire) drives do not show up in DOS.

You can only back up a hard drive to another physically connected drive, or a partition to another partition. You can't save the image to what you are trying to save..
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-05, 11:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb

Thanks. I figured it out. I hit fail next time through and it found out that my external HDD was on drive letter F: not D: and everything worked out as expected.

greenda4
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes