Video Card Out to TV

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-05, 06:12 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Video Card Out to TV

I recently discovered that my video card has an S-Video out that I successfully ran to a TV a couple of rooms away from my computer. I say successfully because I can now display my desktop and video games on the TV.

The problem is that I expected to be able to load up some of my music videos and other AVI/MPEG files in Windows Media Player or Winamp and see them as well. All I get is the Media Player or Winamp skin but no video on the TV (the shells of the media players are visible but just a black screen where the video should be).

What am I doing wrong?

Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-05, 08:38 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is the TV displaying the same things as the monitor, or do you have it set to "extend the desktop to this display"?

I use dual monitors every day at work...one is an 18" LCD, and the other is my laptops built-in screen...the desktop is extended so that each screen has its own contents (rather than just duplicating each other). I have the laptop screen setup as the secondary screen in this setup. I get the same result trying to display a video through windows media player on my laptop screen with this configuration.

Try setting up the TV to be the primary display. That may do the trick (of course, I doubt you'd want to leave it that way).
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-05, 03:22 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The TV is a clone of the monitor. After surfing & fiddling around some more, I stumbled upon what you suggested (making the TV the prime display). This works

There is a nice feature of the ATI software -- I can set up multiple configurations of the displays and access them with Alt/keystrokes (hotkeys).

I've been getting tired of converting files/burning CD's & VCD's so I thought I would try setting up adirect audio/video feed to the TV & stereo in my rumpus room and let Windows Media Player do the work for a change So far so good.

Thanks anyway chirk
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: