slow dial up connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-05, 08:17 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 341
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
slow dial up connection

I read through previous similar post's info. My situation is I am connected for 2 yrs now to a v90 and just switched to a v92 isp and with both get 28Kbps on connection speed. Did a test @ pc pitstop and I got 24KBPS or so. I have a 5+ yr old hp pavillion (500mghz) and my wifes 2+ yr old Hp running xp (mine is 98se), also connects @ 28KBPS. I have a conexetent soft 56k modem, hers a Lucent winmodem. I would like to speed things up and I figure the first place would be to double the connection speed to 40-50KBS. So from the other post I am assuming checking the phone line (they are on different lines (same #), and changing to a real hardware modem would help? TIA jeff
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-05, 05:05 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,399
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
hi
most dailup will not give you 56 k
old phone line in your sector will cause that.
even if your house is new constuction, and new wire to the house does not mean that the sub station of the phone company is new.
Try to get dsl

good luck

pg
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-05, 05:29 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A few years ago I was having a similar problem...56k modem, and lucky to get a 31k connection. 24k-28k was more common. Our homes wiring was the old 4 wire telephone wire, which made a loop from the NID to each jack and then back to the NID. We had two phone lines coming into the house, one for the phones, and the other for the modem. Both lines ran through the one 4 wire cable.

I ran a CAT3 cable directly from the NID to the modem to get it off the loop. The end result was an increase to around 37k or so. Still slow, but better than what we had.

Now I use cable modem.
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-05, 12:55 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 169
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I also ran into this problem when switching over from an old analog baby bell phone line to a newer comcast digital phone line. once I downloaded the comcast modem drivers (which were listed as modem 575) from comcast my old dial-up modem went from the low 30s to around 51k. now if comcast would just uncap my broadband service above the barely dsl speed it gets now. not really complaining because I'm paying 19.95, but after 6 months when it goes up, if they keep this 1meg and below cap on, I'm moving on to dsl.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: