PC restarts on its own

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-05, 11:00 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 231
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PC restarts on its own

My computer sometimes shuts down and restarts itself. This has occurred regardless whether I'm on the internet or not. I'm running windows XP and have a DSL connection.

Upon restarting, a popup appears. I have the option to send a report to Microsoft or not. I've been selecting "do not send". The last time this happened, I chose to send the report. Microsoft came back with a solution found: http://updates.visualnetworks.com

I know this solution comes from Microsoft so it is probably safe to go to http://updates.visualnetworks.com and download, right? I am leary about downloading stuff from strange places. Is this a normal process?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-09-05, 04:49 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,399
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
hi
do send the report, you might need a patch for the update
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-05, 05:29 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,525
Received 237 Votes on 208 Posts
Check all your fans. Also take the cover off and see how thick the layer of dist is on everything. Overheating can cause shutdown problems.
 
  #4  
Old 05-09-05, 07:09 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
do you have Visual IP InSight software? thats what the patch is for.
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-05, 03:16 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 231
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess I do have Visual IP Insight software. It did not show up in the program files. But when I did a search, it popped up in the program files in the SBC folder, which is my DSL provider.

I could go for days without the PC restarting itself and then it may do it 3 times in an hour. So is the fix to download the patch from the site Microsoft recommends?

Should I always go to the sites that Microsoft recommends when it finds a solution to my problems and download the patch?

Sorry but I'm still green to this PC stuff.
 
  #6  
Old 05-10-05, 05:50 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is the company that made the software... who else are you going to get the update from?

Go ahead and patch it. You should be fine
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-05, 03:43 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I used to have an "Emachine" that did the same thing (rebooted intermittently with no apparent pattern) - turns out it was overclocked from the factory. I slowed down the CPU (this was back when you had actual dipswitches on the MOBO to do it) and that fixed the problem permanently.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: