Gateway w/windows xp home

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-31-05, 08:04 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gateway w/windows xp (home edition)

My computer went south (to ****) would not go on-line TCP/IP ERROR after a 100.00 dollar fee for 8 hrs. I got the computer back. I can now go on-line. The CD-ROM will not work nor will the sound.I was told the computer needed to be rebuilt.I was adviced that the parts were excellent (only two years old) and I would have remove everything and reinstall it all.How can I do this w/out the cd working? The device manager has the following[!] HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8481 B , [!] JLMS-XJ-HD 166S What's up w/ the [!] is this the problem. Thank for any & all help
 

Last edited by krumb; 06-02-05 at 05:48 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-31-05, 09:56 PM
sandbagger's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tucson
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well, krumb, it would help if you'd type a little slower and try to use more complete sentences.

what I think I read is that the CD won't work - correct? If that is the case then you are correct - you cannot load the CD that you need for the rebuild. Catch-22. Doesn't the Gateway come with a set of 'restore' CDs? have you tried booting from those? If you can't you'll need to fix the CD before you can go any further. I assume the system is out of warranty? Replacing the CD is usually pretty straightforward and it doesn't have to be an exact replacement from Gateway. they'll charge you a premium for an obsolete unit. Find a local computer shop and they can usually give you good advice along with a good price on an updated replacement.
 
  #3  
Old 06-01-05, 04:03 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In the control panel, select system, hardware, device manager, and delete the CD drive, then restart the computer. XP should reinstall the device in a workable fashion.

Of course, this assumes the CD drive is connected to the IDE bus and has power.
 

Last edited by chfite; 06-09-05 at 08:30 PM.
  #4  
Old 06-09-05, 04:23 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Isn't there sometimes a C:\I386 directory that includes the CABS from the restore CD? That way you can restore the original driver without the CD.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: