House to House LAN connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-12-05, 08:57 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question House to House LAN connection

Hey. Me and my friend wanted to set up a wireless LAN connection between both of our houses so we could play multiplayer games without having to connect to the internet. We both will soon have linksys wireless routers. Our houses are about a 100 yards away from each other. Any suggestions on what we might do? Is it possible to attach an antenna to the router to increase the range?

Thanks,
Dan the Man
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-12-05, 04:04 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,380
Received 201 Votes on 178 Posts
  #3  
Old 07-12-05, 04:55 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wOW, I can't believe that i hadn't found those links before. I will definitely use these. I just have one more question. How will I hook it up to the router? I anyone can answer that than this is officially the best website with the most helpful people ever.

From,

Dan The Man :mask: :mask:
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-05, 02:02 PM
N
NateTehGreatt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Or is it possibly to connect the pigtail to a LAN cable? Because we both will soon have linksys routers (i hope ) and they only have LAN cable ports (plug-ins).
Oh and also, if we got this working. Would other people in the area be able to have access to our network? (If they had a wireless router)


Thanks,
Nate Teh Greatt


P.S. hey dan i got an account
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-05, 05:14 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,380
Received 201 Votes on 178 Posts
Other people would have access if you don't enable security. I no nothing about that so I can't advize you.

As far as where to connect it? The linksys adapter must have a place to plug in. That would be where to connect the home made antenna. I never used, setup or even seen an actual wireless router.
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-05, 09:25 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
lets back up...you say the houses are only 100 yards apart? thats only 300 feet. not very far. Is the path between them good and clear?
different routers will (theoretically) allow access at different distances. Also, you didn't say what type computer you have but you could get a 2011 CD PLUS Long Range 802.11b PCMCIA Card on clearance for 30 bucks. the quick specs:
Features:

* WiFi Compatible card INCLUDES Integrated Internal Antenna
* 802.11b 11Mbps PCMCIA Type II Card
* Significantly Improved Indoor Multipath Distortion
* Includes Installation CD and Quick Start Guide

* 400 meters (1300 feet) in open space provides wireless connectivity for all your computers

http://www.netgate.com/product_info....roducts_id=204
they have a good selection of antenna's and other stuff.
it's possible to have one simple router, maybe a small boosted or raised antenna, and a couple good cards for you to both connect to the router.
 
  #7  
Old 07-14-05, 09:02 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i would prefer to not pay for anything for this setup. All I want to know is how would I setup the cantenna to the LAN cable. If i knew about that i would be good to go.

P.S do you mean security by like passwords and stuff or like an encrypter?

Thanks
Dan
The
Man!

P.S.S. Good for yuou nate
 
  #8  
Old 07-14-05, 09:05 AM
N
NateTehGreatt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well, the path between our houses is filled with trees. And one house is in between.

Here is a poorly drawn image of it! (If it's too blury, tell me, i'll re-do it bigger)


Thanks,
Nate Teh Greatt
 

Last edited by NateTehGreatt; 07-14-05 at 09:19 AM.
  #9  
Old 07-14-05, 04:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,380
Received 201 Votes on 178 Posts
By security I mean seting up the system so that only you and your freind can use it. I know that if you don't do it anyone in the area or driving by can access you WIFI connection. I have no idea how or what you need to do.
 
  #10  
Old 07-14-05, 05:54 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can simply connect the wireless router to the existing system and let it get an address via DHCP. For security, set up WPA without a server. Both of you will use this passphrase to connect to the wireless. This will keep out anyone without access to the passphrase. Setting up WPA is as simple as a couple of selections the setup of the wireless router, which you will really be using as an access point. Don't let it bridge to the rest of the network to keep the other party out of the other computers on the wired network.
 
  #11  
Old 07-16-05, 07:27 AM
N
NateTehGreatt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok i have a few things to say:

Dan - Don't worry about the security I can take care of it. Nobody needs to explain it.

Joed - There is no port for any antenna to connect to on the router. But I will check my network adapter for any sign of a plugin or extension. I'm not sure what that will do though.

Tae - I'm willing to spend some dough...but that adapter you posted looks like its for a laptop. We poth have Desktop PC's. But I don't want to spend any more than around $30.

Chfite - I'm pretty sure that our houses are to far apart for the linksys I have to connect to a DHCP with his.

With that cleared up, I'd like to ask this.
I highly doubt it, but is it possibly to connect our network adapters OR routers to our house antenna's? I don't think this is possible but if anyone has any idea, please post.

Thanks,
Nate Teh Greatt
 
  #12  
Old 07-23-05, 02:16 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
dont be cheap

just get another ISP connection.
 
  #13  
Old 07-27-05, 08:29 AM
A
Aussiecheezhead
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
they have directional antennas.

i've heard of people using them up to one mile away (w/ line of sight) to tap into starbucks LAN and use it for their internet access. google it.

you could mount this on your house's antenna...not sure of cost!

and guys, lets be serious, multiplayer gaming is worth as much as your wife spends on a haircut (about $110 for me!). make that your budget!
 
  #14  
Old 07-29-05, 09:58 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation

I am thinking of building the cantenna that joed suggested. I was also reading up and found out that the waves could penetrate walls or something. The path between our houses is full of trees. is there any way that i could build a wave booster to it can go through the trees without fading away as much. (its either that or use mirrors{i dont want to do that})
 
  #15  
Old 10-21-05, 09:57 PM
K
konspence
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by NateTehGreatt
Ok i have a few things to say:

Dan - Don't worry about the security I can take care of it. Nobody needs to explain it.

Joed - There is no port for any antenna to connect to on the router. But I will check my network adapter for any sign of a plugin or extension. I'm not sure what that will do though.

Tae - I'm willing to spend some dough...but that adapter you posted looks like its for a laptop. We poth have Desktop PC's. But I don't want to spend any more than around $30.

Chfite - I'm pretty sure that our houses are to far apart for the linksys I have to connect to a DHCP with his.

With that cleared up, I'd like to ask this.
I highly doubt it, but is it possibly to connect our network adapters OR routers to our house antenna's? I don't think this is possible but if anyone has any idea, please post.

Thanks,
Nate Teh Greatt

Dan - worry about the security. Dude, you live in new jersey. Having a wireless network in such an eastern state is like... STUPID. Youre gonna have some 40 year old who knows how to use "aircrack" or "airsnort" be like one block away with a cantenna getting on your internet downloading porn through bittorrent. Thats not good. Then youll have an 18 year old hacker use Whoppix and get on your network and, well, sniff + destroy it. Ooh! But you have WEP encryption! Oh dear, that will take the hacker TEN SECONDS to crack.

Your best bet? Possibly run a RADIUS server, if you want to give the hacker something to play with, enable wpa encryption. thatll take a couple more minutes for him. MAC address filtering? psh, ever heard of MAC spoofing? trust me, ive done this all. And from what im guessing you live in a densely populated neighborhood. Well, my friend who lives in the middle of nowhere has people on his network. Imagine all the people on yours.


Joed - There is no port for any antenna to connect to on the router. But I will check my network adapter for any sign of a plugin or extension. I'm not sure what that will do though.

Well, obviously not. You can't connect a plain old linksys/netgear/d-link router to router. well im sure you can, but its not a feasable option. Your best bet is to get something called a "Pci wireless card." it goes in your "computer."


Chfite - I'm pretty sure that our houses are to far apart for the linksys I have to connect to a DHCP with his.


Uhh, nice.... A dhcp server will somehow fix the length between your houses?? By giving out Ip addresses to people?? Huh?


Your best bet for an antenna (if a cantenna wont work 300 feet? Uhh, a radioshack omnidirectional antenna should be able to do that, trees or not!) is probably a cantenna, and if that doesnt work, attach it to a primestar satellite dish (15 dollars) http://cgi.ebay.com/PRIMESTAR-DISH-N...QQcmdZViewItem

Instructions:
http://www.wwc.edu/~frohro/Airport/P...Primestar.html

No offense to any of you, but all of you need to learn to research things better. There is no such thing as a secure wireless network, its impossible.
 
  #16  
Old 10-22-05, 08:26 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 108
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by konspence

Your best bet? Possibly run a RADIUS server, if you want to give the hacker something to play with, enable wpa encryption.

I'll agree with you, WEP and MAC filtering are worthless, but WPA can be pretty secure for the time being as long as the PSK is not under 20 characters and preferably random. The only way to hack WPA at the moment is via a brute-force dictionary attack so it would take a long long time and alot of processing power to crack say a 63 character randomly generated PSK.

Now given time, yes WPA will become more vulnerable as more exploits come out.
 
  #17  
Old 10-23-05, 06:41 PM
A
Aegis
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
First, if you want wireless between the houses, only one of you needs the wireless router...and the other will want a wireless nic.

Maybe I'm completely wrong, but I thought I had once intended on using my linksys wireless router (WRT54G v2.0) in such a way as to be analogous to a wireless nic...(ethernet patch cable from router to my desktop's nic, and the router getting an ip address using dhcp over the air (I had 2 wireless routers, and no wireless nics...odd circumstances, to say the least...). I know it wasn't possible with the routers' original firmware, and I think, while I was researching it, found that it resulted in some serious wireless protocol feedback loops (or some strange phenomenon that made it mostly impractical).

Anyway, for distance, The Wireless B protocol will give you more distance, but less data throughput (22Mbps), whereas Wireless G will give you more throughput at the expense of distance (54Mbps). You'll like G alot more if you plan on doing alot of file transfers, but if, as you mentioned, this will be used primarily for gaming, 22Mbps (B) is far more than enough bandwidth for silky-smooth multiplayer gaming.

Lastly, www.sveasoft.com provides modified versions of Linksys wireless router firmware that allow you to boost to the signal strength of your router to levels above FCC regulations. I haven't personally tried this feature as I've had no use for it, but I can tell you that the sveasoft firmware works quite well on my router and has seriously extended it's capability. Currently, I have Talisman/Basic v1.1 on mine.
 
  #18  
Old 10-24-05, 06:22 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If your budget is $30 (you don't say if that was total or per end), an amplifier is out (even would be for 300 ft).

If things are right, you might be able to go by the trees. You really should have clean line of sight.

For connecting to the networking gear, you can get gear you can connect an external antenna to (usually with an adapter cable to the larger cable you connect to the antenna), or you can disconnect the antenne you have and connect to your antenna coax (with the appropriate cable).
 
  #19  
Old 10-29-05, 11:03 AM
M
MichaelDavis
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This thread has been dead for a while
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: