Time for a PDA

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-05, 03:30 PM
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,392
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
Time for a PDA

I believe the time has come for me to get a PDA. I would like it to have a keyboard instead of using a stylus, I do not need it to be a phone and I would like to start relatively inexpensively. Any suggestions or am I dreaming that something like this exists?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-21-05, 09:21 AM
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,392
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
I'm going to take the lack of response so far as an indication that I'm looking for something that doesn't exist. If cost is no longer a concern, is there anything that fits the bill other than a BlackBerry?
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-05, 09:59 AM
Doug Aleshire's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 4,680
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
jmc,

I have a HP 4700 - keyboards are available for most PDA's. I prefer not to have one. You have to determine what you are willing to spend and other accessories you desire. What I got was almost $600! Then a case - $60, then a car charger, etc. It adds up.

First question is - will you be using it enough to make it worthwhile to have one?

Second is Palm or Pocket PC - price differences here and for good reason. Operating systems are different.

Best thing to do is search the net. Here are a couple of links.

http://palmtops.about.com/cs/pdafact..._Pocket_PC.htm

http://pcworld.about.com/news/Aug212003id111825.htm

Good Luck!
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-05, 06:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 152
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a Ipaq, and a optional keyboard that folds up to a compact size. Nice PDA. I wouldn't have purchased it though (company supplied it) because of the cost. But they are very good units.
 
  #5  
Old 10-02-05, 03:09 PM
danh
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i dont know if dell do one but be wary of the axim as we use them and if you let the battery run too low it does a factory reset and you lose whatever you had on there
 
  #6  
Old 10-03-05, 05:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by danh
i dont know if dell do one but be wary of the axim as we use them and if you let the battery run too low it does a factory reset and you lose whatever you had on there
I have a Dell Axim and this is not an issue. Perhaps it is for older models, but not for the newer ones, at least not mine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: