need help buying notebook computer

Old 11-24-05, 07:12 AM
Brownthree
Visiting Guest
need help buying notebook computer

I want to buy a notebook computer for my daughter who is a senior in high school. The only thing she wants to do is to surf the net and she wants it to be fast. I would like her to be able to use it when attending college. I would love to take advantage of the black friday sales, but I am clueless as to what to buy. Any help will be most appreciated.

Thanks,

Old 11-24-05, 07:31 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
One I use for messing around and is inexpensive is the Toshiba Satelite. I paid like $1300 bucks for it a few years back but they've really been dropping in price. You could also go to www.dell.com and build your own that's within your budget. I would at least get her one with a cd burner and dvd player, and a lot of memory.

**NOTE** I'm no computor pro, just use them a lot.

Old 11-24-05, 07:41 AM
Group Moderator
Received 259 Upvotes on 210 Posts
Any price range you were considering, Brown? You can spend anywhere from $500-2500 on a laptop, but of course the high-end stuff will be way more than she would need. We bought our daughter (HS Junior now) a nice Toshiba laptop last Christmas and she has been very happy with it. My only complaint with it is that it does not have an internal wireless capability. Not a big deal because we just plugged in a simplt pcmcia wireless network card to connect her to the home network, but when she is out of the house, ie college, the internal wireless would be more convenient. We bought hers on-line (can't remember from who, but one of the big guys - Best Buy, Circuit City, or something) and after two rebates I think we got it for about $500. Lot of different options on laptops such as hard drive capacity, memory, screen size, with or without cd/dvd burner, etc.

Here's a quick rundown an what Consumer's Report recommends:

For reliability and the best tech support: