hard drive compatibility


  #1  
Old 11-27-05, 07:45 PM
prowallguy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 2,510
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
hard drive compatibility

My hard drive clunked and went south on me a week or so ago.
I'm currently searching for a new one. My manual says I have a 40GB Ultra DMA hard drive. While looking for new ones, I see no Ultra DMA's.
I was told that an ATA/100 or ATA/133 will work.
Is this true?

My machine is an HP Pavilion 540n, P4 1.6 ghz, 256 ram (upgraded to 1.24G)
Running winXP home edition.
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-05, 03:37 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 120
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hard Drives

" I was told that an ATA/100 or ATA/133 will work.
Is this true? "Yes, ATA and UDMA are interchangeable terms.
 

Last edited by mowfixer; 11-28-05 at 03:38 AM. Reason: Mistake
  #3  
Old 11-28-05, 03:12 PM
D
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 846
Received 12 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by mowfixer
Yes, ATA and UDMA are interchangeable terms.
Not quite, ATA is the 40 pin interface that's been around for ages, having an ATA drive does not mean you have a UDMA drive. The terms ATA 66/100/133 are generally interchanged with UDMA, this is the same 40 pin interface but requires an 80 conductor IDE cable to function properly.
 
  #4  
Old 11-29-05, 08:40 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,484
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If I can translate: An ATA drive will work with an UDMA cable and connector. BUT an UDMA drive will not work with an old ATA cable and connector.

So yes, you can use the ATA drive in your computer.
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-05, 01:37 PM
D
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 846
Received 12 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by BobF
If I can translate: An ATA drive will work with an UDMA cable and connector. BUT an UDMA drive will not work with an old ATA cable and connector.

So yes, you can use the ATA drive in your computer.
Actually it will, just at the slower ATA33 speed. The connectors are the same.
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-05, 09:27 AM
U
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 40
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Technically...

ATA is the interface
UDMA / PIO is the transfer mode

If you use a 40 PIN conductor cable, you will only get up to 66 MB/S. If you use the 80 PIN conductor cable, you will be able to achieve the higher transfer rates(100/133 - depending your harddrive controller)

Any modern day drive will work with your machine. If you buy a retail kit from a store like Best Buy, Staples, or CompUSA for example, it should come with a 80 PIN cable and use that so you can get the higher transfer rates. (FYI, these are theoretical rates 33/66/100/133).

Also, if you buy a larger drive(120 GBs or more) besure you have Windows XP SP1 at least installed and also make sure your BIOS supports it otherwise you'll have to install additional software(usually comes with the retail kits) that will allow you to see drives larger than 120 GBs
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-05, 11:33 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 505
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
...just don't buy a SATA drive.
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-05, 10:03 AM
U
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 40
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by air biscuit
...just don't buy a SATA drive.

Good call

You would want PATA interface
 
  #9  
Old 12-02-05, 10:11 AM
prowallguy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 2,510
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Thanks for all the help. I picked up a Maxtor Ultra Series 250GB for a decent price, and it will hook up using my old cable.

But apparently, my set-up cd's only have winxp on them, with no sp1. So after more research, it appears I need to get a ATA/PCI controller card, due to the 137gb limit on xp.

Does anyone know if when I install the card, can I use the new 80 pin cable to achieve the higher speeds?
 
  #10  
Old 12-02-05, 07:34 PM
U
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 40
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You can slip stream SP1 and or SP2 into the Windows XP CD. Try to google for slip stream and windows xp. That way your drive will be reconized while you install Windows XP


Good luck!
 
  #11  
Old 12-03-05, 06:42 AM
prowallguy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 2,510
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Slipstreaming was suggested, and I researched it a bit. Its all way over my head.

Plus, I couldn't do the steps anyways, as this is my main primary hard drive that is bad, can't even fire it up, let alone burn/make a bootable cd.

The ATA/PCI card looks like it would be the much easier route in my case.
 
  #12  
Old 12-03-05, 11:35 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,694
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What would be recommended is to make a smaller partition for your OS (under 137 GB), and fill the rest of the drive with a data partition after SP2 is installed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: